STEALTH TWITTER & Entry in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 16, 2017, 6:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

11.15.2017.1600
One thing I really hate about getting E-Mail alerts about Job Searching is that… the jobs are repeating. A LOT. A LOT A LOT. And if I applied, or didn’t apply, there was a reason. And if I didn’t apply, I’m not likely to apply. And if I did apply, I’m not likely to apply again when they haven’t gotten back to me from the first time I applied (within the last month!) So… yeah.

11.15.2017.1625
Chinese Boss was at Ames for the afternoon. White Boss was in DM. I am in DM. I am acting as appendage for Chinese Boss trying to get something done today. I come back from the front (just now) and White Boss’ office is dark and empty and he has gone home. I find this somewhat humorous.

11.15.20171642
Chinese Assistant is walking around the office with his chest pumped out saying how he is excited that he’ll finally get to tell Chinese Boss what he thinks of her soon. Best of luck, buddy. Kind of hope you do. Not sure if you will.

11.16.20171414
Some days, like today, I hear so much rapid fire Chinese… and so little English… that I want to just have a temporary psychotic episode where I just start shouting gibberish that may sound vaguely, offensively Chinese. Does that make me a horrible person? Possibly. But it also demonstrates why people of specific cultures and languages stick together in Foreign Communities. Being away from “you” for too long isn’t good. And there is a surprising amount of “you” in a Home or Native language.

11.16.20171702 Definitely a Real Entry here
Here is, perhaps, the best example of why this job (whether it is this FIRM or this CAREER I can’t say) isn’t for me. There is a case I was working on. Chinese Woman running a massage parlor. According to the Police Officer’s report, Chinese Woman begins to give him a massage, then begins to massage his penis. According to the Police Officer’s report, after 12 seconds, the officer tells her he does not want that kind of massage and she stops. According to the Police Officer’s report, he signals the team and they arrest her. According to the Police Officer’s report, the Chinese Woman is denying that she touched his penis. According to the Client she still maintains that she did not touch his penis. I am a prosecutor in spirit… I tend to believe the officer… after watching as many Body Cam and Dash Cam videos as I have… everybody lies. But officers lie 20% less often than criminals because (1) they know they are being recorded and (2) criminals have more to gain if their lies are believed. ANYWAY even with the police report, there is a huge legal problem with the case. They charged her with prostitution. Prostitution, by statute, REQUIRES AN AGREED OR BARGAINED FOR EXCHANGE OF MONEY FOR SEXUAL CONTACT. Meaning, if someone touches your penis… it isn’t prostitution. Meaning, if you go to the doctor and pay him to touch your penis… it isn’t prostitution provided that penis touching is not deemed sexual contact… and yes that is tricky. But in our case… meaning… a massage was paid for. There was no discussion of sexual satisfaction. There was no promise to exchange more money for sexual contact. And, obviously, there was nothing stating that the sexual contact was part of the massage’s original price. HOWEVER… I would have charged her and prosecuted the hell out of this case. Win or lose, I would have taken this all the way if I were a prosecutor. The prosecutor that had the case? Didn’t see it that way. She dismissed it. So Chinese Boss and White Boss are thrilled and congratulating me (Chinese Boss even hugged me she was so thrilled) and… I have no joy from this. I would have been happier if the hearing had happened tomorrow (being paid for 6 hours of driving is better than being paid 3 hours in the office) and I didn’t do anything to make this outcome happen. Yes, I refused to take any plea deals. Yes, I demanded we go to trial. Yes, I was going over the discovery. But none of that caused the outcome. And that is why this job isn’t for me. I don’t want credit or congratulations for something I didn’t DO. It is like being congratulated for not killing a puppy. Even if it is really hard for you to not kill a puppy, not killing puppies is a standard social norm and you don’t get bonus points for it.

Which… frankly… is why I wanted to be a prosecutor (which is why I went to Law School) in the first place. I was raised to think that Doing Good is the expectation and obligation of being a person. If you want to live in society, you obey the rules. Growing up, I saw everybody breaking the rules. But I knew that such actions would ultimately prevent them from living full, happy, healthy lives because they were hurting other people and acting selfishly. When I got to college, I realized that isn’t at all true. It grew out of the reason I got out of acting. The selfish, trading sex for parts, being mean to others assholes… they got the power. The Frat Brother who knocked up his girlfriend… still (to use their phrase) “got the most trim at parties!” It was like… breaking the social norms is what got you the outcome that social norm was protecting. You want money? Don’t save up and work hard. Inherit and invest irresponsibly! You want sex? Don’t treat women with respect and caring. Be a total douche and a man-whore! And… it angered me. All my life I had urges, desires, hell: compulsions that I fought, suppressed, repressed, kept down. Because going around doing whatever I felt like was wrong. It was bad. And it was a surefire way to lose out on everything you wanted. And if that wasn’t going to be true… I wanted to MAKE IT TRUE. I wanted to be a prosecutor to make the world follow the rules. You don’t get drunk and drive home because “fuck that, yo.” You don’t beat a woman half to death because “she wouldn’t shut up, dude.” You don’t steal from a store because “fuck corporate America.” And yes… you don’t rob from the poor, or build subpar shitty housing to take advantage of people or… all the things that corporations are getting away with right now that actually are VERY MUCH against the law but nobody is charging them with shit. That is why I wanted to be a prosecutor. That is why I still want to be a prosecutor. I want a world that makes sense. Where (true story) I’m not defending an 11 year old boy who repeatedly sexually assaulted his 9 year old sister by “putting his penis into her vagina and anus on several occasions). Because 1: a 10 year old doesn’t do that with criminal or lascivious intent… that boy is a direct victim of extreme sexual abuse and needs help. Because 2: since he is already this bad, that boy should receive mandatory help in a secure facility until he is 18 and can live on his own.

But then… I can’t get that work, can I. lol.


Deleted user November 17, 2017

I think the conflict is real for many lawyers that they want to do the “ right” thing but most of the time clients are not in the right and they are paying the lawyer to get them off .

Tempestuous1 November 17, 2017

I'm sorry you can't find work in what you're passionate about.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.