Mas Quejumbroso in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 15, 2017, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The loud, fighting moments…
The soft, boring moments…
I can honestly say with no remorse that there is not a single thing that I like about this job.

We all knew that already. That isn’t a powerful statement or a surprise. That is reiterating the obvious.
And I understand and embrace the “harsh reality” my father tried to instill in us. “You don’t go to work to have fun. You go to work to earn a paycheck and take care of your responsibilities.” So I get it.

But… you’d think there would be something. Right? Like… why do this job every day for the rest of your life if you don’t enjoy any element of it?

Or am I being greedy? Is that too Xennial of me? Is the expectation supposed to be that “work is a grind, just get through it?”


stargazing November 15, 2017

While i think one should expect that they have to work hard to get the job and salary that they want, working your way up the ladder...and that this can take years to achieve...I don't believe you should have to put up with people who treat you abysmally. For me, this is the main problem with your current job. They don't treat you with respect. The long hours with crappy pay would be my expectation when one is starting out. But I would not expect to be told one thing when hired, and then the reality is another. I would not expect to be told last minute that I'm working for free on the weekend. I would not expect to not be able to take time off to have a surgery or go to the doctors. We spend too much time at work everyday to be miserable. Do I believe we have to absolutely love what we do? No. I can't say that I love billing insurance everyday. But it's something I don't have strong negative feelings about....and I work for a great company that treats their employees well.

Deleted user November 16, 2017

Work is work but remember you are wasting important hours of you LIFE when you have no passion for it or are miserable. Time is our most valuable possession. We only getso much and poof ! Your time is up . Being happy is not a Luxury; it needs to be a priority .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.