An historic day :) #equallove in Holy Shit!

Revised: 11/15/2017 1:35 a.m.

  • Nov. 15, 2017, 1:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thanks for your views on my friend. I just don’t want him going off the rails, so I’m a bit worried.

Anyway, I’m sure you’ve all heard by now. Today is an historic day for same-sex couples in my country. It only took forever to happen. Even even still, is hasn’t ‘happened’ but the government would be pretty fucking stupid to ignore this result.
I had to work today, so I was pretty busy. It was only when I saw my store manager (who is gay) that he asked me if I’d heard the result. I stopped what I was doing and my heart was in my throat. Was it bad? Was it good? “61.6% Yes result,” he said.
I think my immediate reaction was crunching the numbers and realizing that was good, but then looking at the other side and seeing that meant 38.3% had voted no. But then I realized, “Hey, that’s pretty much 2/3rds in our favour!”
I literally couldn’t wipe the smile off my face the rest of the shift. Imagining my dad’s scowl at seeing the result just made me think, “Suck shit dad!”
I’m allowed to gloat. I deserve it after all the shit he’s put me through over the years.

2017 Australian Same-Sex Marriage Survey

I’ve just taken screenshots from the above website. I figured I couldn’t not write about it today.

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

These last two are the participation rate. Only 18.4% of Australian females on the electoral role didn’t vote. That is huge. For males it was 22.7%, because you know how lazy males are :P
alt text

alt text

Now that the $122 Million dollar waste of money to tell us what we already knew is over, the government has to do it’s job. There’s a couple of bills ready to be reviewed, and one of them is just horrific - it basically says that anyone can refuse us based on that we’re the same sex plus a bunch of other discriminatory shit. They funny thing is that the guy who drafted the bill (Paterson) looks like the biggest homo ever lol.
There’s another bill from Dean Smith that looks muuuuuuch more appropriate.
Our Prime Minster says that we’ll have marriage equality legalized before Christmas. But I’ll get properly excited when that actually happens. Our government is a complete mess at the moment with the citizenship saga, brought on my the Greens LOL.

Wowie!

Oh, I got an SMS from my mum when I was on my break that made me tear up a little :)
Apparently she has a story to tell me about it when she sees me over Christmas.
alt text


Last updated November 15, 2017


crunchie November 15, 2017

I'm so glad Australia got it right although frustrating that it had to come to this. I was rapt that victoria (I'm from Melbourne) had the highest "yes" vote! Very nice of your mum to send you that text

KissOfLife! crunchie ⋅ November 15, 2017

Go Melb!! :D You guys sure have your brains right down there haha. I'm laughing that Abbott's electorate beat mine by 1% and only had 19% saying No. He must be pissed lol.

kmh. November 15, 2017

I’m in tears reading your Mums text, Matty! ❤️

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ November 15, 2017

I was holding back tears too, only cos I had to return to work! Haha.

nthaniel November 15, 2017

I love your Mom! :)

So glad to see the result is not what you expected! You deserved a pleasant surprise!!!!

Swanny November 15, 2017

What a lovely thoughtful message from your mum.

Fawkes Gal November 20, 2017

I was so glad to hear this!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.