Gifts and Burdens in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 12, 2017, 9:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hate having ideas. Honestly… I have ideas constantly. Ideas all the time. But I lack the ability to make those ideas into anything. And this… this is what my brother will never understand about people like me. My brother has a gift. Since he was 2 years old; my brother has been able to create what he sees in his mind. It started small. Fingerpaints that people could instantly recognize. He showed someone what he was painting; they said, “Wow, that is a great tiger!” When he was 4, he could take clay and mold it into what he saw in his head. He would show it to people. “Wow, that is an amazing action figure.” Yeah. Action figure. A GI Joe made of clay. When he was 7, he got into drawing and pastels. When he was 10, he had a painting of a dragon he did in the Art Center of Iowa. When he was 12, he could build Lego Masterpieces using “the pieces he found lying around.” When he was 15… he got into skeletons and skulls. So he prepared the skull of his dead hamster and took photos of it. Those photos got him an Art Scholarship. At 15. There has never been a form of art that he couldn’t master. There has never been an idea in his head that he couldn’t express artistically.

Meanwhile… I get ideas all the time. Constantly. I write them down and they just… sit. In the endless ether never becoming anything. It can be frustrating.

Like… you know how there is Jessica Jones, Agents of SHIELD, The Avengers, The Defenders, etcetera. You know how that was/is (don’t know if it is still going on) the show “Powerless” where the staff of an insurance company, specializing in products to protect defenseless bystanders from the collateral damage of Superheroes and Super villains. What about a show like “In Treatment” connected to Super Heroes? It would illuminate PTSD and discuss things like surviving disaster and all that?

Like… survivors of Zebediah Kilgrave? People who’ve experienced Inhuman mutation? Children whose parents abandoned them when they turned into mutants. Those people would need therapy (solo or group) and that could be an interesting show. My idea would be a show of that nature.

And that is as far as that idea will ever go. Like most of my ideas. Words from my head to words n the internet. Never to become anything more substantial.


Deleted user November 12, 2017

Then you need to do something with those ideas. The difference is your brother put his ideas out there but you haven’t promoted yours ...

Rhapsody in Purple November 13, 2017

I did love Powerless, it was great.
Someone else will probably come up with your idea. My sister often has great ideas for shows and movies but doesn't follow them up, but give it time, someone else has thought it up. She was wondering if hollywood had bugged her to steal her ideas. But she's not using them beyond the concept.
Visual arts feels more immediate and individual. You can have an idea and make it happen, but if your idea is a screen play, then its harder to get it out there so other people can appreciate it. Beyond just the writing of it, you then need people and money to take it further.
With your background in acting and your passion for writing, have you thought about going into screenwriting?

Park Row Fallout Rhapsody in Purple ⋅ November 13, 2017

I have often considered screenwriting. But the only way I can think to get into that is to create something and sell it. IE: Being a show creator. Which... I suppose I could do (?) considering how many TV shows I have in my head... but I have no idea how to get that process started without lots of free time, available money, and connections in the industry

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.