A Different Tactic. Part 5. 6:30 p.m. in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 7, 2017, 6:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

Perfect World & NoJoMo

alt text
The above image was taken from Text Adventures.co.uk (HERE)

As I think about the Perfect World, I have to carefully consider what that would mean. Obviously, I’m not discussing a world of no war, no disease, no politicians. I’m not seeking Utopia or Nirvana. I’m just trying to think… if Wife is miserable… if I’m unhappy… what world would we/could we prefer?

ME:
I want something where I am happy to get up in the morning. Where I can go to a PLACE (office, building, park, whatever) and know that there will be someone there happy to see me. Where, in this PLACE, I can do something that enriches the lives of others. Something where I interact with other people, do something that involves speaking and/or writing and/or communicating. Where I do something that affects others in a positive way without hurting other people. And honestly… pay wouldn’t matter. Health Insurance would, obviously. I am now ever more of the belief that outside of the United States few understand how insane this system really is without insurance. And here’s the thing. If there were people happy to see me… people that I could help or would help me… people I could eat a meal with or chat with… it wouldn’t matter if it was a 7 am to 8 pm job. Obviously, it would get old if that was how it ALWAYS was. I do very much wish to go home to my family. But… the presence of others… the positive presence of others… the existence of communication, camaraderie, cooperation… these things matter. Lets call PLACE WHERE I DO THINGS “JOB”.

So… I want something where I wake up in the morning, go to JOB, come home sometime between 5 and 7. Spend time with Wife & Puppy and/or Child. Go to bed. (M thru Friday). Saturday and Sunday would be for taking care of the House the Yard spending time with Friends and Family.

That’s what I want. Instead of “Be James Bond” my I want a perfect world is “Be My Dad”.

WIFE:
Obviously… I can’t state with absolute certainty. She routinely says that she does NOT wish to be a stay at home Wife. She wants to work. But she has no idea what type of work she wants to do. Like… I can’t even write whether she wants to go to PLACE or STAY AT HOME. Like… she could GO TO PLACE and work (office, lab, school, etc) or she could STAY AT HOME and work (author, telemarketer, etc). But she doesn’t know what she wants in that regard.

She does know
(1) She wants a house
(2) She wants to stop working at Wal Mart
(3) She wants to be able to spend weekends and evenings with me/friends/family
(4) She wants a dog

So… yeah. Wife is going to have a hard time of things since she has no idea about the job thing on any level.

But at the end of the day… we just want what our parents had. We want a job with reasonable hours, reasonable pay, and benefits. We want a house. We want a dog. We want to be a family. I literally have pictures of both of our families that stretch back generations where this was just “The Norm” in America. You look at our generation?

Wife has no siblings. Her cousins, though?
The cousin closest to her in age does have a kid. No house. Changed jobs 3 times in the last two years. Computer Technician.
The cousin older than that? Single. One bedroom apartment. Computer Tech in Seattle.
The cousin older than that? Hell, all of the other cousins? Engineers working for Car Companies… of course, they are in their mid to late 40s.
My sibling. Has the artistic talent only God could create. Went to the Navy, 4 years. Undergraduate. Masters Degree. Started his own company and making hand over fist.
My cousins? Now THAT is a varied bunch!
I have an uncle that was making $7 million a year. He has two children. Daughter: elementary school teacher in the inner city; unable to get pregnant (though is trying). Her husband works the Check Out Desk at an Enterprise Car Rental. SON: technician for Tesla’s V.3 design; living in a one bedroom with his new wife; making almost nothing.
I have an Aunt that is absolutely bat shit crazy. She has two children. Son: Professional Academic, continues to get degrees until he figures out how to be a professor. Daughter: Selling comic books for an hourly wage in mid-town Chicago.
I have an Aunt whose kids were juvenile delinquents. She has two children. Eldest Son: Knocked up a girl at 16; works construction. 2nd Wealthiest family member of our generation. Younger Son: Knocked up a girl at 18; works construction. 3rd Wealthiest family member of our generation.

So.... yeah. That’s how it looks. In my specific family… the Artist with God’s Gift makes a ton. The kids of Wealth are struggling. The highly educated are struggling. The kids we all prayed would just stay out of jail… thriving. No, I’m not comparing my life to theirs. I’m just saying… of all of us… if the goal was to be our fathers........
Brother is succeeding due in large part to talent.
I am failing due to bad choices and bad luck.
Wealth Daughter is succeeding as best she can, considering her medical issues and shitty husband.
Wealth Son is doing as best as he can, considering he makes shit pay.
Academic Son is very much like his father… a professional academician with no other goals.
Comic Book Daughter is… struggling. She started college, had dreams, was attacked. Her dreams died. She was attacked on U of I campus. And now, in my current job, I’m just as likely to be the attorney that defends an attacker. Kind of shit makes me mad about this job.
And then you’ve got the Construction Brothers. They are very much their father. Their father was an abusive, rude, asshole that left my Aunt and his sons when he discovered he’d rather have a “young, hotter wife” and not have to worry about “kids needing things.” The boys hadn’t a father until they were “old enough” to take care of themselves (partially proved by becoming fathers) then their dad was like, “Okay. You’re men now. C’mon up north, I’ve got jobs for you.”

So that’s the secret. God Given Talent and/or Knowing the Right Person. Welcome to the new millennium.
alt text
I was once told that, due to astronomical shifts in the earth and sky, Astrological Signs could be a month off or more. Given that, and the fact that I was born 4 weeks premature, I’ve always wondered which makes most sense for me.

AM I TRULY A TAURUS?
The Taurus is known for their reliability, patient, practical, devoted, and stable nature. Not one for change, stability is a key player for the Taurus, making them reliable friends and hard workers. The ruler of the bull is the planet Venus, the planet of love, attraction, beauty, satisfaction, creativity, and gratitude, making them have taste for the finer things in life. Because of its ruling Planet Venus, Taurus have a tender nature which makes for great cooks, artists, and gardeners. Taurus are earth signs which, makes for a good thing because Taurus are said to be very down-to-earth. On a bad day, our reliable, stable, and supportive Taurus can turn overindulgent, stubborn, lazy, vain, and too cautious. This makes the people around them go nuts. Taurus need to be more open to change, some Taurus well into their routine and never break out of it without realizing it, because it’s part of their stability. It’s important for Taurus not to limit theirselves due to the unsettling feeling of change.

OR AM I A GEMINI?
Gemini is the third of the 12 signs. They are seen as fascinating, original, resourceful, charming, wise, and adventurous. They often have a feeling of not having enough time to explore everything, finding it difficult to stay in one spot. Growing bored with routines, Gemini’s need something to stir things up, an adventure of sorts, and with their adventurous nature it’s possible. Gemini’s are known to be adjustable to their surroundings or whatever life tosses their way, with their charm and charisma They tend to live a light carefree life. A Gemini might be filled with charm and charisma, but their weakest spot is that they can’t stay in one place for too long, making them inconsistent. Whether you’ve known them for a day or years, if a Gemini decides it’s best to leave and move on without you, they will. A Gemini need to find a healthy balance of excitement and change to fall into a stable and healthy routine.
alt text

NOJOMO 7

Write about how 24 hours of your life using opposites. For example, if you’re a female, write about that day as a male.

Actually… it is late. Like 7. So, I’ll skip NoJoMo today.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.