Kitteh... in Fresh Start...

  • Nov. 6, 2017, 10:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a quick update on one of my cats… he had 2 strokes back in Augustish. I’ve had a time with him since. He has a rare blood disorder… his bone marrow makes too many rbcs and so his blood gets super thick and he throws a clot and has a stroke. I have that fairly managed. He’s on low dose aspirin twice a week to thin his blood and goes to the vet about every 6 weeks currently to be bled to thin his blood. Now, he’s started having seizures as well. So he’s on anti seizure meds. It started with 3x a day and today I just decreased it to 2x a day. One of the side effects is loss of appetite and his eating has drastically slowed down. The vet recommended I start at 3x and make sure it’s working, then back off gradually to see how much he needs to prevent seizures. I’m hoping if I get him down to once a day he’ll eat more. He had an abscess in his face due to a wound from a seizure, so he just finished up his antibiotics today, so at least that’s one less thing to give him. I know I’m only extending his life at this point, but he’s not in pain and he seems happy so I’m giving him his fair shot.

Anyways, off to bed....


Internet Stranger November 06, 2017

Poor kitteh. :( And poor you.

Down the rabbit hole... Internet Stranger ⋅ November 07, 2017

Yeah... I'm hoping I can find a good balance soon... especially since he's only 1 of the 22 animals I'm responsible for.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.