Adventures of the Wild, Wild WEST, Part 1 in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 24, 2017, 8:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tuesday Night: Still in shock from the dream job opening up, I went home (sans the dog because she was going to hang out with work buds until I got back from road trip and returned back to work today), changed clothes and went to the Vietnamese place to eat pho and drink bubbles - off plan. Best Bud called me because she’s getting a new boss (MY BOSS will soon be her boss), we talked for a little while and then I sent a text to Steve McQueen because he’d been asking about work stuff. He called me immediately. We talked for a while. I told him that I was taking the day off work on Wednesday because I had originally planned to take my car in for service. But because I’d just had it fixed and they’d run all the diagnostics at the collision shop, they told me I wasn’t even due for a service. That meant I’d found myself a FREE DAY before the road trip! I told SMcQ that I’d asked Cindy if she wanted to go to the Fair with me but that she didn’t know if she could break away and I told him he was welcome to join us…or me…whichever the case may be. He told me to let him know what was going on tomorrow. I went to bed.

Wednesday Morning: Needed to PACK for the road trip that Athena and I were taking starting Thursday morning. I’d thrown a couple of options on the bed and then decided that I’d go get a mani/pedi before the trip and also stop by the Apple store to pick up a new iphone cord because I’d just broken mine the night before. Nails took for-evvvv-er to get done and Cindy had already told me that she couldn’t go to the Fair, so I sent SMcQ a text asking if he was available to go just with me. He said YES so I told him that I wanted to go around 1pm. Perfect. Finished up my errands and headed home with enough time to spare before SMcQ came over. Surely I’d have plenty of time to pack before the road trip!

Wednesday Afternoon: The FAIR with Steve McQueen! You guys…so much damn FUN!! We did everything, from the junk food and beer (off plan) to the animal barnyard to the petting zoo to the wine garden (are you sensing a theme here?) to the cooking awards to the rodeo to the rides. We talked and we laughed and we got a little tipsy. At one point, we got in line to ride the giant ferris wheel, and I thought I’d recognized someone in line in front of us. As I got closer and closer I figured out who it was. It was BIL - the guy I’d gone out with a few times and the guy who I’d seen recently for career advice. Introductions all around between him and SMcQ and BIL’s daughter and some woman whom he didn’t introduce (weird). It was awkward. Surely we weren’t going to sit in the same ferris wheel car as BIL??! But sure enough…we did. Riding the ferris wheel was BEYOND uncomfortable, but perhaps the only person really freaking out was me? I don’t know. After we got off, I probably didn’t really need to explain in detail, but SMcQ wanted to know how I knew that guy, so I told him a bit of the story - that we’d been out on a couple of dates, but that some woman was posting photos on Facebook of the two of them traveling to exotic locations together and writing how much she LOVE HIM.

Wednesday Evening: Was getting dark after the ferris wheel (we rode at sunset - how romantic!), and we both wanted a glass of wine since we’d discovered the wine treats, so we found a place and sat down and talked tons more and then the PARADE went by and SMcQ held my hand (!!!) and then it was time to leave the fair! He drove me home but neither one of us wanted the night to end, so we went to dinner at the Mediterranean place down the block from my apartment and had a nice dinner. We went back to my place where, not only was there a pile of clothes waiting to be packed for the early morning take-off, but there was also a bottle of champagne chilling in the fridge!! Hm. Pack or drink champagne with SMcQ? Hm. Hmmmmmm. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm. Before either one of us knew it, we had drained the whole bottle and were MAKING OUT on my sofa. Not necessarily in that order. Guys, it was HOT. He needed to go so I could pack, but clearly that wasn’t going to happen. We were too schnockered. We went to my bedroom where the clothes were piled and he gingerly took everything off the bed and we both proceeded to fall asleep! Fully clothed, of course.

Thursday Morning: Woke with a start and realized what was happening. There we were, snoozing up a storm and I wasn’t packed at all! Steve McQueen and I cuddled for a second and laughed about the night before and then I kicked him out because (a) I wasn’t packed, and (b), I was supposed to be picking up Athena in 45 minutes! We wished each other a great rest of the week and goodbye! Threw some random items in my bag, texted Athena that I’d be a little later than planned, smiled inwardly and then got on my way…

To be continued…
xox,
GS


Emm October 24, 2017

Oh My. Sounds delicious!!!!

Gangleri October 24, 2017

Ah, the fully clothed sleep.

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ October 24, 2017

👍😩

Pies on a Carousel October 25, 2017

I'm always that awkward guy that doesn't introduce people.

Nash October 25, 2017

I like this guy.

bobbi01 October 31, 2017

What a fun day. I'm reading on to find out what your forgot in your speedy pack!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.