Hairy in Stuff

  • Oct. 23, 2017, 3:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Years ago when my kids were all small I was on a mothering forum and chose the name for myself “happy hairy hippie.” Since then, it’s a name I’ve used a lot online. I think it’s a perfectly fair description of myself. I know the definition of the word “hippie” has become a bit nebulous over the years, but I still think of myself as part of that group. Although in my professional life, I seldom let my hippie side show.

However, I’m often a little uncomfortable with how freely I announce to the word that I’m hairy. Sometimes I think it’s not something I want everyone to know about me, and certainly doesn’t need to be one of the first things I tell someone when describing myself.

I think about that a lot, actually. It’s odd to me what some people mention first when introducing themselves. I have a good friend who always says “bisexual” as the first thing she tells anyone about herself. I understand that sexual identity is important, but I’m not sure if I would opt to put it so front-and-center.

Or maybe it’s just easy for me to say that when I’m straight and I don’t have to deal with discrimination.

But anyway, here I am on another site calling myself a happy hairy hippie. I stopped shaving when I was in my early 20’s and have never regretted that decision. I have body hair everywhere it grows naturally. Sometimes it’s awkward in public, I admit, since body hair on women is still a bit socially unaccepted. But it’s never awkward enough to make me wish I shaved.

I read something earlier this year that said approximately 25% of millennial women no longer shave their armpits, and part of me really hopes that’s true. I’d really like to see society trend that way.


SilentEcho October 23, 2017

I could never do that, bravo to you!

I do get lazy though and go days, sometimes a week before shaving my legs. It's almost the norm now, my boyfriend doesn't seem to care or notice because he's just not very handsy so it makes it easier I guess.

Perpetually Plump October 25, 2017

I go through bouts of not shaving. My boyfriend likes everything to be very smooth though, so I shave every few days for him. What a pain!!
Also, this reminds me of a but in the Outlander series of books. The heroine is in France in the 1700's, and she is visiting a friend one day when the friend's groomer came over. She had the groomer wax her armpits. She went home to her husband who was absolutely horrified that she'd stripped herself of hair. Lol. She told him the other girl had her nether regions done, as well, and he was absolutely beside himself! It was really comical to see the author's take on the disparity between grooming then and now.

Triple H Perpetually Plump ⋅ October 25, 2017

That's what so funny to me about modern day ideas about grooming and hygiene...so many people think it was always like this and don't realize a lot of stuff is fairly recent ideas, and most likely will morph into something else someday. It wouldn't surprise me if 50 years from now hairy legs on women would be considered very attractive.

Bird of Paradise November 17, 2017

I always keep my arms shaved. I get BO when I haven't. My legs I only shave in the Summer and not often, but then after Menopause you don't have to shave as often.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.