Good Examples in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 23, 2017, 2:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How to Run a Firm:
Too many cooks.
alt text

I think Chinese Boss did take our talk to heart the other day… about how the way things work here weighs too heavily on me and how that is bullshit. Because today, when White Boss was yelling at me for filing something, Chinese Boss actually admitted that she had told me to file it. Good thing White Boss was prepared for something like that. By saying, “I know I told everyone that we could not file this until after our client did X. Our client hasn’t done X, so we shouldn’t have filed it. Y’all got to start doing what I say.”

So… Chinese Boss admits to telling me to do it; White Boss gives her the out by saying I should have known better anyway and, as I was the one who filed it, it is my fault. Super.

Here’s an interesting thing, though.

So… people have taken to telling me “remember to take care of yourself.” And that is valid because it is the kind of thing I don’t really do. I mean… if Wife has an issue and my world is falling apart… I’m going to let the whole “taking care of myself” slide pretty aggressively. Wife, my Dad, everybody has been saying “You have to take care of yourself.”

Funny phrase to repeat. This morning, Chinese Assistant came in to my office (we were both there about an hour before the bosses) and told me about Chinese Boss freaking out about my hours. I let him know she already talked to me, and he encouraged me to make sure I’m billing for “even the times when you think about the case.” Yup. I know it is my money, I know it is the firm’s money. But… as it seemed an experience in Chinese Assistant and I bonding over “Isn’t it bullshit when the firm does X”… so I told him about applying for the City Attorney Job. Which I want. SO MUCH. PLEASE CALL ME FOR AN INTERVIEW! And Chinese Assistant said, “I consider you a friend, so I hope you get it. You’ve got to take care of yourself, right?” Of course… out of the dozens and dozens of government jobs I have applied for in my lifetime… I’ve only been interviewed for maybe 8. I’ve only ever been hired for 1.

But still… Wife came home last night sobbing. She wants to quit ASAP. She just wants to quit Wal Mart and start looking for something else or go back to school. But… I don’t blame her for what is stopping her. Iowa’s health market is currently abysmal shit. ABYSMAL. And with the Republicans trying to destroy ACA all the time; relying on it may be foolhardy. Between us… we would spend over $200 on medication without insurance. Even with insurance, her current Therapy is costing over $150. So… she quits Wal Mart, our expenses per month increase by $1,000 and our income per month decreases by $2600. This isn’t me enabling her with excuses… Insurance and Financial Concerns are very legitimate. So… maybe, hopefully, if God really loves me… one of my attempts to fix the situation might actually work out.
alt text
Ufda. You know how I can tell I’m sick? Because the only thing I want to do right now is lie on my parents’ couch, and go back and forth between watching DS9 and Disney Movies. So technically… I’m sick, but I’m not super sick. If I were super sick the only thing I’d want to do is lay in bed watching Marx Brothers or Adam Sandler movies.

What a time for Bosses to be going to China. lol. So I was assigned a butt ton of work today that is due by Wednesday Morning. Meanwhile, I have my own cases and clients that I want to take care of. And I barely have the energy to keep my head up. (Let alone the voice, this soar throat keeps lowering my voice in both volume and pitch).

So… I think what my future has to be for the day is… after meeting with a new client to get a contract signed, going back to the DM office to make sure the bosses know that I didn’t just f off after the meeting (yes, they think that highly of me), and then I can have my first meal of the day Chicken Soup before tackling several more hours upon hours of work. If I can stay awake. Which… is already becoming an issue.

Oh, before I go… I never shared with you the Before and After of the Shave and a Haircut:
alt text
alt text


Tempestuous1 October 23, 2017

Rhapsody in Purple October 23, 2017

i like your hair cut.

Deleted user October 30, 2017

Your hair cut looks great !!! Sorry you are feeling so bad. Crossing my fingers you get that call for an interview etc...

Always Laughing October 30, 2017

I like the new look, hope you are feeling better by now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.