like a vacation in 2017

  • Oct. 13, 2017, 1:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:13pm

I’ve got a couple updates today. Nothing particularly interesting. Just life stuff. Hopefully I can type every thing out pretty quickly and maybe go to bed early. Although I just remembered I want to stay up for the 11 o’clock news to see what new updates they have on the fires. Man, I didn’t think they were going to get that bad. And it’s even crazier when you personally know people who are affected.

Speaking of which, the Sheriff actually replied to my email! I sent it out Tuesday? Then the next day [which seems like so long ago but was actually yesterday haha] we were going to go shopping for supplies for the fence/yard divider we’re building. We planned on having dinner out there so I stopped at the office to print out a coupon I had for a free appetizer. I do love free food!

I’d been thinking about checking my email all morning but I’m trying not to do that obsessive checking thing. There’s no reason to go out of my way, or out of my normal routine, to check my email every hour looking for a reply. I’m trying to keep things under control around here. Although mostly I fail.

So anyway I was at the office and since we were multi-tasking I went ahead and did what I always do and checked all of my accounts. By the time I finally got around to the gmail one I clicked over, it loaded, and I saw a new message from him. I didn’t even stare at it for very long before I clicked to read what else was written. It actually had more than just one sentence! =)

He ended up saying that the fires were horrible. He went in to work Sunday morning at 7am and at the time of the email [approximately 1:45am Weds] he was just barely getting home to get some sleep. He’d had two short naps in that entire time and the rest of the time was spent evacuating and rescuing people. That’s so crazy. To hear those kinds of things from someone who is basically on the front lines. I don’t think I’ve ever known anyone in that type of situation before. It’s surreal to hear about it like that.

I guess the fire was still about 15 miles out from his own house. Power, phones, internet, etc had all been out for a while but his had just come back on that day. He said he was just getting home and going to try to get some sleep before he had to go back out. Then he thanked me for checking in on him, added a little smiley face, and signed his name.

I’m glad he wrote back so quickly. It would have made me crazy if he hadn’t. I can’t help it! Especially in a situation like this where every time you listen to the news it gets worse! It seems I caught him at just the right time, which is crazy. Like the same day his power comes back and just hours before the same night he’s finally going home after three days. I don’t know how I timed that, or how the Universe helped me time that, but it worked out pretty well.

Also, I’ll admit I am a little bit flattered that despite probably being dead tired and wanting nothing more than to fall into bed he took the time to write me back and it wasn’t just an “everything’s ok, thanks” kinda response. I appreciate that. It’s nice that in some world he actually thinks enough about me to want to let me know how every thing is going. It would have been very easy to ignore the whole thing, and I wouldn’t have blamed him. So I’ll take it as a good sign, right? Maybe. Just a little bit. :)

Of course being the big talker that I am I told myself I wouldn’t email him back until work tomorrow. Hah. As if. I started working on a draft last night after we got home, just so I wouldn’t forget the things I wanted to say, and ended up staying up late to finish it. Once I started I couldn’t stop. And I wanted him to hear the words I had to say, even though now reading back on it I kinda treated him a little more personally than I should have. Like telling him that he needed to make sure to take care of himself too with all that work, and asking about his parents, and then making a joke about how of course I would check in because how else would I collect on the drink I’m owed if I don’t keep an eye out for him. ha.

I don’t know why things come out so easily like that with him. I’m not sure I should be saying those things to a guy I barely know! That’s the thing about him too. It seems like I’ve known him for so much longer, and so much better, than I actually do! We’ve only met twice! Exchanged about a half dozen emails and maybe like 4 phone calls. That’s it! It’s crazy but every thing has always been so easy with him. Talking, and sharing, and having conversations. So I sent the email at almost midnight and of course now I’m doing that annoying thing where I leave my account signed in while I sit here. At least I didn’t go out of my way to get on early but still. I know he’s so busy! On top of his bad track record with email responses. He’s not going to stop saving people from a crazy wildfire to respond to my stupid email! But it’s hard not hearing back. And the worst things get the more I want to be in a semi-constant contact with him. Can you blame me?

The thing is that I still don’t know him very well. It’s not like my heart started pounding at the sight of his reply. I started thinking about it today and he’s kinda like a vacation. You know how a vacation seems really amazing and wonderful while you’re there? Except at the same time you also know that if you were to stay there long term it probably wouldn’t feel like that at all. It’s like that. Because I don’t know him well enough to know if that fun amazing feeling would be long term. I don’t know if it would last after the vacation is over. Which is why I’ve wanted to talk to him more often and spend time with him outside of the office. For all I know he’s boring, and we hate each other, and we’ll never get along long term. But I can’t know for sure until it happens!

Anyway, I hope they’re all ok and I hope he’ll write me back when he gets time. At some point I’m sure I’ll work everything out in my own mind. I can’t guarantee there won’t be more entries on it though. =]

In other non-guy news: my new neighbor asked me to let her dogs out to the bathroom today. They were going to be gone for several hours and wanted them to be able to go outside around 7pm. She asked me on Monday and since I was going to be around I said ok. It wasn’t a big deal. We originally thought she was going to have surgery or something but it turns out she’s actually adding to her tattoo collection. haha. I found that out today when I went over around 11am to get instructions. And we talked about it a little and I took the opportunity to ask questions. I told her I’d actually just recently been doing some research to find someone. She ended up giving me her cousin’s name, who does her tattoos, and told me to look him up online. When she asked where I wanted to get it I told her my leg and made a joke about being bad at commitment though. I’ve been thinking about it for years, but I actually feel like I’m narrowing it down now. I’m pretty set on my idea, just not sure how I want to design it, and it’s true that in the last couple of weeks I’ve been really serious about wanting to get this now. Why wait any longer?!

But yeah, the dogs were fine. Mom ended up coming over with me just in case I had to chase a dog down. [My joints have been killing me lately. My elbow was so bad today that I had to wrap it and it’s probably the worst pain I’ve ever felt in it. I’m worried it’s only going to get worse. But I’ll talk to the doc next week for sure..] I took the two little ones out first and she stayed inside with the big one. They only peed but were very good with directions! The little one I was worried about was actually ok. She only tried to run out the front door but we blocked her and she didn’t even bark at us. Then the big one went out with mom and we were all good. They’re very friendly dogs. The middle one seems to like me. He was following me around earlier and then tonight was just hanging by me outside. Is it weird to be happy when animals like you? I feel like they’re good judges of character. haha.

Tomorrow morning I’m going to breakfast with an old coworker and then into work. I want to say some stuff about TF but I’ll save that for another day. I should get to bed anyway. Tomorrow’s my lucky day - Friday the 13th!! =D

rose.
11:20pm


Last updated October 13, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.