Religious Concept in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 11, 2017, 12:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe it is only Wednesday. Every day this week has felt like 3 days.

On a different note:

So… it is fair to shout at the Heavens. Some would say that is proof of faith; shouting at the Heavens is talking to God, if you don’t think God is there you don’t shout.

Well, here is a song that has been playing on the Radio that… from the first moment I heard it… it made me think about what is going on in my relationship with my Savior.

[Intro]
La-da-da-da-da, la-da-da-da-da
Da-da-da

[Verse 1]
We are searchlights, we can see in the dark
We are rockets, pointed up at the stars
We are billions of beautiful hearts
And you sold us down the river too far

[Chorus]
What about us?
What about all the times you said you had the answers?
What about us?
What about all the broken happy ever afters?
What about us?
What about all the plans that ended in disaster?
What about love? What about trust?
What about us?

[Verse 2]
We are problems that want to be solved
We are children that need to be loved
We were willin’, we came when you called
But man, you fooled us, enough is enough, oh

[Chorus]
What about us?
What about all the times you said you had the answers?
What about us?
What about all the broken happy ever afters?
Oh, what about us?
What about all the plans that ended in disaster?
Oh, what about love? What about trust?
What about us?
Oh, what about us?
What about all the plans that ended in disaster?
What about love? What about trust?
What about us?

[Bridge]
Sticks and stones, they may break these bones
But then I’ll be ready, are you ready?
It’s the start of us, waking up come on
Are you ready? I’ll be ready
I don’t want control, I want to let go
Are you ready? I’ll be ready ‘Cause now it’s time to let them know
We are ready, what about us?

[Chorus]
What about us?
What about all the times you said you had the answers?
So what about us?
What about all the broken happy ever afters?
Oh, what about us?
What about all the plans that ended in disaster?
Oh, what about love? What about trust?
What about us?

That being said… just because there is a new song to shout to the heavens doesn’t mean the old ones aren’t still circling in my mind. Granted these aren’t the happiest, most fun fun thrilling songs… but these are Audio Adrenaline and Jars of Clay songs (two of the bands I saw at my first Rock Concert… yes, my first Rock Concert was Christian Rock) and… some of the songs truly are… cut to the bone depressing. Proof that even The Faithful can have severely down times. (Don’t believe me? This is a religion where we celebrate the fact that God became vulnerable to prove divine love, we killed him for it, and he still forgave us.... talk about your down moments).




ASIDE: It is strange how often Pink sings my heart, though. Her song “Just Give Me A Reason” always makes me cry a bit because it reminds me of my marriage. Wife and I talk, and talked again last night, how we are in love… we do love each other… we do want to make our marriage work… but in our lives right now, we’re both feeling so broken, so worn down by our jobs and our lives not being anywhere near where we want them to be… we feel broken, but we’re trying.


And with that… yeah. It suggest the other reason why I want to figure out my job thing so much. We’re in the right city. We’re with family and friends. We’re in an area where there are lots of fun diversions that don’t require trespassing or drinking. If I could just get a job where I had insurance and reliable hours there would be massive changes. Wife could feel more free to simply quit Wal Mart and focus all of her energy on Therapy and/or finding the job she wants to do. We could have dates to re-connect (as she wouldn’t work nights/weekends). I could develop hobbies and be a more productive member of society. That isn’t asking too much is it? I mean… I’m a semi-intelligent, clean cut, zero criminal record, zero debt, 33 year old white male with a Bachelor’s Degree and a J.D. Finding a job with insurance and reliable hours, arguably, really shouldn’t be asking too much.


Tempestuous1 October 11, 2017

Skikkles911 October 11, 2017

Pink does have a way with emotions and words in her songs. I've always liked her, frankly I think she saved us weirdos back in the blonde bimbo days of britney/christina/mandy/jessica.... ugggghhh

Amaryllis October 11, 2017

Hah, my first concert was Reliant K. Hooray for early 00's Christian rock.

stargazing October 11, 2017

Is it strange that I love Jars of Clay and have seen them in concert, but am agnostic? :)

Park Row Fallout stargazing ⋅ October 11, 2017

From a "music loving, aesthetic" level it makes sense... but it is interesting to hear of an agnostic being a fan of a Christian band. REALLY proves you aren't controlled by music genre labels!

stargazing Park Row Fallout ⋅ October 11, 2017

The first song I heard of theirs was Flood, and I had no idea it was a christian band. I bought their album, and figured it out...but loved their music. :)

Park Row Fallout stargazing ⋅ October 11, 2017

Flood was a massively popular single for them. Another great one on that album was "Faith Like A Child." Granted... considerably more religious in content... but I always thought that was a powerful one.

I would be very interested to hear your opinion on some of their contemporaries. Namely... the concert I was discussing was headlined by DC Talk. A Christian Band, but on their most famous album they covered "Day by Day" from Godspell

stargazing Park Row Fallout ⋅ October 11, 2017

I'll try to check them out and get back to you. :) Yea, i think Flood was aired on non-christian stations. But I first heard it on Days of Our Lives. LOL It was playing when Sami lost control of the car she was driving--the image is burned into my memory for some reason. I must have been able to look it up online...not sure how else I would have discovered who it was. Anyway...I love all the songs on that album. :)

Deleted user October 11, 2017

Its not too much to ask at all and it's entirely feasible. Just be patient, persistent, network like crazy and stay open to what will show up .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.