The American Dream in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 11, 2017, 3:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I might not ever publish this one. I’ve already published two articles today. But then… a dark, dreary, rainy day where I am stuck in the Ames Office with ZERO other people tends to make me want to go to Prosebox. Because… it is what I did when there was ZERO other people in Tiny Town… it is what I did when there was ZERO other people in the Law Library. Apparently, I need to start asking why jobs always want me to be COMPLETELY ALONE. It is a weird and uncomfortable trend. I mean… I walk past offices with other people in them all the time. I read about them, I see television programs about them… I even vaguely remember them. Other attorneys I know have “Office Environments” that involve other people. So… why is it that I am doomed to be the 1 lone person in an office with nobody around?

That isn’t why I’m writing, though. I’m writing because, again, I look to what I want in this world and feel… broken… that what I want is so simple and yet… continues to be out of reach.
Why is this
alt text
so fucking hard to get?

What do I need to get it?
(1) A steady job where the paycheck is reliable.
(2) Health insurance that will take care of me/my wife if we have issues.
(3) A job with reliable, steady scheduling to know when/if I can be home for my family.

At the moment? I can’t get a house. No idea what my pay is going to be from month to month; but I know my year to year is $30k.
And I’ve already waxed annoying about the schedule. Dawn to Dusk 5 days a week would even be kinder in some ways… at least I’d know it was consistent.

And as all of this swims in my mind, choking the air from me, metaphorically speaking…
I go on Job Websites. Indeed, Monster, Glassdoor, DesMoinesHelpWanted.... I check Recruitment Companies. Palmer Group, QS, and others. And… I’m stuck. Because I can do anything and nothing. I could try for the HR Job that requires “An associates degree and computer skills” but… really? A 2 year degree is all that is required… I have a J.D. Would I even want that job? Would I have a chance at getting hired? Would the job feel degrading, would it make me supercilious? OR I could try for the Finance Analyst. True, I suck at math and I’m really not great with numbers. But the job requires at least a Bachelor’s Degree. Or what about all of these “no education required” jobs? SYSCO Foods is looking for Warehouse Workers. The job would go from 4 pm to Midnight but it would pay around $20 per hour with benefits.

I just… I just want a job. That I can do. That will pay me and give me health insurance. And not ask for 60 hours a week.alt text


Tempestuous1 October 11, 2017

Personally I think you should go for something with better benefits and pay than you get now. But, you may end up being told you're over-qualified for it, like what happened to me.

Amaryllis October 11, 2017

I feel quite the same way. I'm smart, well-socialized, and extremely hardworking. However, I have the wrong degree and no 'relevant' experience, so in the eyes of employers I'm useless. I would have taken over the world in 1980 when you could waltz in to any office and get hired for an entry-level position. It's so frustrating.

Deleted user Amaryllis ⋅ October 11, 2017

Ugh, this. All of this is exactly my issue, too.

Deleted user October 11, 2017

Look at all the different fields lawyers work in ; tax, divorce, property and estate planning, criminal law, civil law, accidents, medical malpractice , family law, insurance etc... I know teams of lawyers work for hospitals. There are so many areas you can look into , I am sure you can find your niche. Just do not be afraid to take a little risk .

Deleted user October 11, 2017

I am hoping for the good times a-comin'. For you, me, and so many others who have been struggling to find that "dream job."

-d October 13, 2017

If you like dealing with people try insurance, real estate or mortgage. You might have to pass some state exams, but you can make ok money, and most likely get benefits... or afford them.

Deleted user October 13, 2017

Just quit over thinking and start taking real action !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.