nO RIGHt in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 9, 2017, 6:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know that I am presently employed and therefore have no legitimate right to complain.
That being said… do you know what the most depressing thing about actively looking for a job is?
The realization that my skill set is (apparently) not marketable. Or… it is marketable in the way that Mitch Hedberg once said being a comic is marketable.
“I look for work and I tell people I’m a comic. They instantly ask, ‘So can you write?’ or ‘So can you act?’ That’s like telling someone ‘I’m an astronaut’ and they say ‘But can you be a doctor?”

My skills are speaking and writing. Speaking persuasively, yes. But… my skill set is speaking and writing. My academic degrees? Religious Studies and a Juris Doctor with a Certificate of Recognition in Litigation.

Surprising how many jobs look at my background and shout
alt text

Always great for the self-image to know how little the society/community needs your specific talent set.


Tempestuous1 October 09, 2017

:(

Amaryllis October 09, 2017

Making costumes and English Literature skillsets, here. FeelsBadMan

We're ambitious and smart. We'll figure it out, one way or another.

Park Row Fallout Amaryllis ⋅ October 09, 2017

With your skills and mine; we should be founding members of a theater troupe!

Deleted user October 09, 2017

You passed The Bar and that is quite prestigious. Keep looking :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.