Where I'm Lucky in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 9, 2017, 10:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am lucky in many ways.
Granted… being afflicted with constant pain sucks.
Granted… my wife having zero libido sucks.
Granted… my job situation is almost abusively atrocious in some ways.

But I am lucky. I am lucky in that I have parents who love me and want the best for me. After they read the comments on my 6th Month Assessment, they were quick to say “Nobody should work for people who view employees like that.” I am lucky in that my wife knows what she wants for us, even if it is difficult. She doesn’t care if I am an Attorney or a Grocer… she just wants me to get a job with insurance as we are both sickly people who require insurance. I am lucky in my friends who were aghast to discover that all of the Saturdays where I had to do Firm Work, I wasn’t paid. I am lucky in PB readers who are good enough to read and comment on my ramblings. New insights, encouragement, and worthwhile considerations are so often found in my comment section.

I am lucky in people.
I am fortunate in finances (neither my Wife nor I have any debt).
I am fortunate in location (DM is a pretty good place for Wife and I, all things considered).

I just… have one more thing to figure out. It isn’t the end of the world. And there are LOTS of people who spend MANY decades trying to figure this particular thing out. So… in many respects, I’m in a good place.

But I do really need to figure out the job thing. Because it IS an issue to have bosses that specifically say “We don’t want you paralyzed or blind; but you can’t schedule Doctor’s Visits during work hours.” If we were a 9 to 5 kind of job… that request would make sense. But as we are an 8 to 7 kind of job with weekend responsibilities? I’m not going to postpone things like Surgery or Glaucoma checks. To have bosses that said, “We were a bit too hasty agreeing to let you go to San Francisco” and now punishing me for it… despite during my interview for the firm saying “If it is going to be a problem, let me know; and I can rescind my application.” And to have bosses that lose $800 and come to you to ask if you have it? Yeah. There are a large number of reasons to honestly say… I do need to figure the job thing out. And I’m thinking it would be better if I figured it out in a way that meant I was not at this firm come April 2018.


Tempestuous1 October 09, 2017

(((Hugs)))

stargazing October 09, 2017

SO..if you aren't supposed to schedule doctor's appointments during the work hours, and you work all the hours any doctor I've ever known has...how on earth are you supposed to go to the doctor? Most places aren't even open on the weekend, so if you are lucky enough to not have a work commitment on the weekend, what is it going to matter if the office isn't open? An employer who doesn't view an employees health as something that is important isn't anyone I would want to work for. And it SO is not fair to tell you in the beginning that you could go to your event...and then later hold it against you. These are not good people. You aren't asking for crazy things. This isn't a failure on your part...this is a failure on their part. You don't owe them anything except to work as hard as you can while you are there.

Deleted user October 09, 2017

I agree.

Always Laughing October 19, 2017

Ummmm is it legal to tell someone you can't schedule an appointment during work if you are asked to work all the time during appointment hours? Again they are crazy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.