Reminder in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 6, 2017, 4:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I need to re-read some of my PB writing from last year.
Because I am back in the mindset “I never should have left.” And I know better. I know that not being in Tiny Town is better. But when your bosses tell you “We DO NOT CARE about you as a person, you need to give us all of your time”.... it makes you think. Because if you had told me that all of my time would go toward a job that paid half as well with no insurance? I would have taken a hard pass. As important as it was to get back to Des Moines, there were some sacrifices I was willing to make. A hit in pay, a hit in insurance… I was not happy about it… but I was able to accept it because we were moving someplace where it would be easier/better to live. But if I’m not allowed to live… then it wasn’t a bargained for exchange. (Though, technically it was)

HOW A BARGAIN FOR EXCHANGE WORKS
To constitute a contract, an agreement between two parties must have been a bargained-for exchange. This occurs when a promise or performance (consideration) is provided from each side in exchange for a return promise or performance provided by the other side. Without a bargained-for exchange of consideration, there is no enforceable contract, but merely a gratuitous promise.

The Bargain I thought:
You give up (Money) + (Insurance), You receive (Location) + (Opportunity)

The bargain I got:
You give up (Money) + (Insurance) + (Time) + (Life), You receive (Location) - (Ability to enjoy Location).

So I still received something in exchange. The consideration is valid. It just…

Yeah. I need to re-read old Tiny Town entries. Remind myself why we left.


White Rabbit October 06, 2017

Not sure what you do, but I always recommend going into business for yourself I never had insurance or money or time. Now I have all three... Given I have state insurance, but at least I have it.

Deleted user October 06, 2017

Yes. Re- read those but you are happier in your current location , now you just need a better job. You could go almost anywhere else at this point and do better. You could be a paralegal temporarily and make more money, have benefits , and less crap than from those cheap people! Just make up your mind to find a different job until you get the one you like. These days people change employers often. It's all a matter of finding a position that suits your life as it is now; this job is all for them and nothing that benefits you.

Rivercity October 06, 2017

I think you wrote pretty vividly about why Tinytown was awful. At least you're in Des Moines now. I think the bad thing that both jobs have in common is that you have hardly any colleagues in your workplace and your bosses at both places were/are unpleasant or incompetent. I think it's hard to get away from bad bosses, but could you look next time for a job where at least there would be a lot of people you could actually talk to, even if they're not doing the same exact work you are? I find having no actual friends at my job is the worst thing.

Park Row Fallout Rivercity ⋅ October 06, 2017

This is SO true and I didn't realize it. A little human interaction seems to go a long way!

Tempestuous1 October 06, 2017

coffeemate October 06, 2017

I work in a large company in hr and all of our employee relations team are lawyers. Have you thought about job shopping in a corporate environment?

Park Row Fallout coffeemate ⋅ October 06, 2017

I had never heard the term "employee relations" so I'm definitely googling that and what that job entails. Thanks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.