Thistle, Millet and Popcorn. Oh, and a Rose... in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 28, 2017, 9:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A late local rose taken this week. I put this up on my Facebook page for my yoga classes a few days ago but I thought it was pretty enough to share here too.

Overnight we are about to have a shift in the weather to consistent overcast, cooler temperatures and rain. But the last few days have been stunningly beautiful and warm as the leaves begin to turn in earnest.

This morning I had my annual skin check and for the 4th year in a row I am cancer free. Remission is a beautiful word, and an even better reality.

This afternoon I had my flu shot.

Much to everyone’s astonishment Employee Health put our building on the schedule early this year; and on a day that both Saint Joe and I were in the office. We had both made plans to traipse off to other buildings during our lunch hours to get our shots this week to get it over with and so it was such a luxury to step across the hall, 10 minutes all together, to get it done.

Other than getting my eyes checked I think I am good on the preventative care stuff for now.

I have this old simple hot air popcorn popper that I have had for maybe 20 years and I don’t think I have used it for maybe 9 years. Most Honorable was telling me that it was a hot item on EBay a few years ago because specialty coffee aficionados were using them as home whole bean roasters.

After work today I got it down from on top of the kitchen cabinets where it gathers dust, cleaned it and got some popcorn I bought recently out and was measuring it out (not in the least bit sure how much dry popcorn made how much popped popcorn). In the midst of this the cats were all over the kitchen counter. They had recently had dinner but I had been gone most of the day and they were curious about what I was doing.

As they always are.

Diego decided to make the leap from the counter to the top of the refrigerator and ummm, missed.

I keep my wild bird food in various containers over there and the next thing I knew there were popcorn kernels, black oil sunflower seeds, thistle and millet all mixed in on the floor, the counter, me, Diego…

That is the third jump he has missed this week.

I think he has put on just enough “extra” weight to throw off his one eyed crooked tailed judgment. He is a remarkably good jumper considering his limitations so I am not too worried but I will keep an eye on him.

Last night a new to me student (she’s been once before) stayed after with her friend that brought her and was telling me about how she needs to do certain things to remember because she had an aneurism a couple of years ago an lost a lot of basic brain function.

It was lovely to meet her and I was so impressed at how well she could do things and how much creativity was involved in the doing of things most of us take for granted.

We are amazing creatures and healing and quality of life are so much more available than they appear to have been in the past. I enjoy being party to a small fraction of that in my classes.

Tomorrow I am teaching my last Friday class. I am throwing in the towel, crying Uncle, giving up the gig. This is my second attempt at teaching a Friday class and I just can’t draw enough students.

For now. :)
Everything old becomes new again.
So say we all.

(In the meantime my heart is with, my thoughts are with, the people of the islands devastated by these storms.)


Last updated September 28, 2017


Zipster September 28, 2017

OH what a mess! Did you separate it all out or just put it out for the birds?

noko Zipster ⋅ September 28, 2017

I picked the popcorn out and put the rest out for the birds.

Lyn September 28, 2017

Diego has got to be careful when there is too much gravity in the room! 😼

How interesting about your new student. So special she was comfortable sharing with you about the aneurism.

Deleted user September 28, 2017

Only you would pick out the popcorn ! You are so good !

mcbee September 29, 2017

As always, a beautiful picture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.