What I need in Stuff

  • Sept. 26, 2017, 4:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After just mentioning here the other day about a real drought in my dating life, I went out with Ron last night. Here’s the Ron backstory:

We were invited to a cookout with some friends for July 4th this year. It turned into a rather large party, maybe 40 guests or so, all in their backyard with a pool. They have a large house and plenty of space and it was a good time even though I didn’t know about 80% of the people there. Olsen and Harry really enjoyed themselves too, and Mercer seemed preoccupied with the fact that he didn’t know too many people and isolated himself on a chair near the pool for the whole day.

I’d never met Ron before this party but started talking to him randomly as people do at events like this. He also works in law and is a single father so we immediately connected through having these similarities. I felt an immediate chemistry with him and it was clear we were both flirting with each other. At one point, Jeanne, who was hosting the party, commented to me (although she was most likely just joking around) that they had an available spare bedroom if I wanted a place to get some alone time with Ron.

I didn’t imagine anything really happening. This was a family party in the afternoon, not a evening party with only adults. But later in the day Ron was fooling around with some of the older children near the pool and someone pushed him into the water. It was all in good fun, and he seemed to take it quite well even considering it most likely destroyed his cell phone and who knows what else he had in his pockets.

He was headed inside to change out of his wet clothes and I playfully told him I would come along and help. He didn’t stop me. I directed him to the spare bedroom, and we went right in and had sex without almost even speaking to each other. It wasn’t a rushed I hope no one finds out kind of sex, but instead a very enjoyable 30 minutes or so of taking our time and making sure we both got pleasure. It might go down as the most civilized hook-up of my life.

It’s been months since then and we have exchanged several texts about maybe meeting up for various almost like going on a date things, but every time one of us can’t quite make it happen. I’ve come close to suggesting we skip that charade and just meet up for sex, but I haven’t done so. Then yesterday he told me a friend of his who is a chef was having a dinner and wine pairing at his restaurant and invited me to join him. So I did.

We had a nice evening. I don’t drink so perhaps I didn’t enjoy it as much as someone who was really into the wines, but it was still a good time. He was a wonderful date and talked about normal things and I really felt like I was hanging out with a friend and not just someone who I’d fucked at a party.

When we were done, he commented that he was open to hanging out more but was also content if we just called it a night after dinner. I responded that he was welcome to come back to my place, but pointed out that I have three teenagers that would all know why he was there. “If that doesn’t make you feel uncomfortable,” I said, “it’d be nice to have you come over.”

He responded, “I really liked your kids. It’d be nice to see them again.”

After passing out in sweaty ecstasy together late last night, he woke up startled after 2:00 AM and told me he probably needed to get home because his daughter was alone. (She’s 17, so it’s not THAT big of a deal, but I imagine she was wondering where her father had gone.)

I don’t know where that leaves us. I’m not really looking for a relationship right now. But I’m also not overly interested in random sex (not judging that at all, I just feel like I’m starting to outgrow that lifestyle) so whatever it is that Ron and I have might be just what I need.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.