Champagne Campaign Redux in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 21, 2017, 4:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Remember my Champagne Campaign? It was my trip last year, almost to the day, to visit the Champagne region of France - to taste and learn about everything Champagne, to cook (and drink bubbles) in Paris and to just enjoy a sparkling time all to myself?

Well, I haven’t lost that zest and passion for my bubbles. In fact, I want to immerse myself in bubbles. Ensconce myself in bubbles, even! I’d love for part of my side hustle to be somehow part of a wine or champagne business of some sort, but with more, like doing design work and product development and all that jazz.

Anyway.

A while back, I found a company that’s making bubbles/sparkling wine as well as still wine aimed at a particular target market (millennials), and I was curious about this company. Doesn’t hurt that an internet celebrity is a co-founder of this company and has a lot of social pull.

Long story short-ish, I found out through social media that this company was hosting a party here in town over the weekend, so I purchased a ticket out of curiosity and decided to chalk up this experience as research.

I clicked around online to buy my ticket, and I found out that the company sponsoring this event is a company whose founder is a follower/friend of mine on Instagram. I’ve never met the guy in person, but we “like” each other’s photos occasionally, and he seems fairly approachable in that we go to many of the same places and like a lot of the same things.

And I had a lightbulb moment…

I decided to direct message the guy on IG - telling him that I’m totally into champagne (and the creators of this company) and what his company is doing. I went on to say that I have years of experience producing various kinds of presentations, including fashion shows, trade shows and other events. And then I told him that I had already purchased a ticket to his event, but that if he or his team needed any help with the event I’d be thrilled to volunteer my services.

The guy messaged me back within the hour.

Flash forward to Sunday night where I found myself dressed to the nines, directing VIPs and celebs to their private tables at this event, and even schmoozing with the advertising agency folks and the peeps who put on the party.

The only unfortunate thing is that I didn’t get to meet the Champagne people. That’s another story.

However, I did get a personal “thank you” email from the agency founder, who said he’d like to have coffee and talk with me sometime soon. And after a few back-and-forth emails, we have coffee set up for next Saturday (not this Saturday but the following).

I am thinking of things we can discuss! I am trying to pull coherent thoughts together on what I want to get across. I’m looking at side hustle opportunities. I hope this leads to something more, but I need to make sure I have in mind what I want to talk about.

This could be a turning point, but I HAVE to turn it into something. More thoughts on this later, I’m sure!

Yes, that was my something crazy reference from the previous entry. After writing it all out, it doesn’t really sound so crazy, does it? And I do have to say, it was a lot of fun for me. THIS is the kind of stuff that really gets my juices flowing.

More later…

xox,
GS


Gangleri September 21, 2017

Awesome. Here's hoping for ya.

Jafael September 21, 2017

What a great way to embrace your passion for bubbles AND make connections to things you want for your future!

bobbi01 September 21, 2017

Exciting!

kansasgirl September 21, 2017

Crossing my fingers for you!

.bob September 21, 2017

Way to take the initiative!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.