October 20th, 2012 "Goodbye John Cook" in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 9:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week sadly flew by. Sadly, because one of my really good friends is here and I don't want him to leave! It has been so nice hanging out with him because I don't really feel connected to many people out here. He leaves today to go back to Washington and pack up to leave for his mission that he begins October 24th. He will be training in Utah and then flying to Italy. I won't see him again for two years!! We definitely plan on writing letters back and forth, as we have been, but still. It is not going to be the same knowing I cannot just jump on a plane and go visit him whenever. I hope he has a fun time on his mission and I hope that when he comes back he moves to the east coast like he has been talking about!

He flew in on Monday,but the plane was delayed so he didn't get in until 1:35a.m. On Tuesday I had to work until 4, but we explored downtown Salem and then went to an old cemetery to try to find a geocache. We couldn't find it and dummy me, didn't realize we needed to get the app so we can actually have GPS coordinates instead of trying to find it off of just the hint, LoL. We asked Rena and Jeff about it and apparently the cache wasn't even in the cemetery. Then driving home, somehow we got lost and I asked Siri for directions and she kept telling us to turn left on Appletree Lane then turn left on Peachtree Lane and I have never been so lost in a residential area in my life!! Finally we found our way out and onto the freeway and I made some pizza and we watched T.V. On Wednesday I had the whole day off so we went to New Hampshire and hung out in Portsmouth. I took him to Friendly Toast and then we went to find more caches. This time I had the app and we went searching for one by a church, with still no luck! We were getting a little disappointed and feeling rather stupid, but luckily found the second one we were searching for by the lake. The lady at Subway told us about some crazy protest going on to keep a parking structure from being built and we wanted to join in, but we never found it. We really wanted to get up to Maine so we drove over the bridge and went to Kittery. Sadly, that is as far as I have gone in Maine so we decided to drive even further and see what Maine really has to offer. We ended up on the coast and it was SO beautiful!!! The trees up there are even more beautiful and I could not stop taking pictures. We pulled over to an old antique store and shopped around for vintage postcards. I had to see if a geocache was close by and sure enough, there was one right next door! It was supposedly a really easy find, but we spent forever looking for it. It said it was at the end of the guard rail. You should have seen us trying to be inconspicuous looking for this thing in front of a busy store...high muggle area LoL some lady even said, "You must be geocaching!" We were like ...Uh yeahh opps lol. Rule number one DON'T let people know you are searching for something! LoL. After the failed geocache we went to a psychic to have our palms read. She told John he has a long life ahead of him but his mom could have some health problems in the future. And he will have the opportunity to be married with kids, if he chooses that. She told me I have a good family, but have been very disappointed by them. (Hah). And that I will be with my husband for a long time, and have two kids (ew)....but that he is a very hard person to understand. She said I am frustrated by lack of money, but in the future I will own my own business and be well off. It was a fun experience, but we were still itching to find a geocache in Maine. We drove all the way to the Nubble Lighthouse and we finally found a Maine geocache!

Thursday was a crappy day because I had to work allllll day! Finally was off at 7 and we went straight to Rena and Jeff's. We had a great dinner with them and ended up playing Apples to Apples all night! Then on the way back home it was around 11 and we were hungry again so we stopped at Nick's and I made John eat a roast beef sandwich, which he said he would probably like more if he were really drunk. Yesterday I had to work all day but I got off around 5 and the plan was to meet up with Carol and Brian at Red's Tavern. I got home and still no word from John who had gone to the temple. Carol and Brian don't like to stay out late so we told them how about we just meet up at 6:30 and hopefully John can meet us there. Well I guess he was still in the temple and had a long bus/train ride back so he had to miss dinner. We still had a great time, and we are probably going to all go out to eat again when my parents come to town.

So it has been quite a busy week for me, but I am sad it is over with. Two more years and we will reunite once again!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.