September 27th. Visit to Vermont. 31/50 states visited. in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 4:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lately I have been feeling very antsy. I re-organized our spare-now guest- room and finally fixed up our bedroom, which put me under about three hundred bucks!! I absolutely hate spending money on THINGS, especially from corporations, but I needed to make the room into a guest room for when people stay over (having a few guests visit in October) and I was also dying to get our bedroom organized once and for all! Dave now has a nice nightstand (since I am using his ) Oh, and for a little feng shui, I got a plant and named it Henry. I got a ton of other stuff to make the room more livable, but I will have to take pictures and post on here at a later date.

Because I spent so much money on shit like that, I had to get out and explore and get back to my true self if you know what I mean. I drove all the way to Vermont! (Going through a tank of gas, of course) But I didn't feel bad about spending money on that because I was actually going out and seeing parts of the country I've never seen before. I have now officially been to 31 states, btw!

It was such a beautiful drive!!! Unfortunately, in my rush to get out and on the road, I forgot to bring my camera! So I only had my shitty cell phone camera, and the pictures didn't even turn out 10% of how beautiful everything was. The trees were red, yellow, orange, green. There were rivers and lakes all around the highway. NO traffic! Amazing farm homes. Ahh...I gave out quite the squeal when I saw the "Welcome to Vermont" sign. Usually I like to have company on roadtrips, but I was glad that I took this trip alone. I had a lot on my mind and a lot of time to think about everything. I felt like I "reconnected" with myself, if that makes any sense. So I finally find Brattleboro, a small town near the border and had a fun time exploring downtown. I went to this awesome bookstore and I couldn't get enough of all the cool things they had inside. It was like hippie heaven! So many bumper stickers, postcards, pins...my favorite things to collect!! Then I bought a book on OWS that I can't wait to read! After that I went to this antique store that I saw was a "must visit" on a website and it was really cool!! I saw a ton of original art I only wish I could afford. Then I went to this bakery and had an amazing maple ham and vermont cheese sandwich and some apricot pastry thing. Mmmm! There were so many hippie-type people, down to earth, no-make-up, wearing sweats with flip-flops, guys with long beards and flannel shirts, suburu outbacks literally everywhere!!! Everyone was smiling and saying hi to me. It really did remind me of Washington, and I knew I would love it up there! I am so glad a place like that exists relatively close to where I live. I was sad to make the long drive back home, but didn't want to be out there when night fell. Overall, I feel much better that I got out and had a little time to myself, but now I have all these new thoughts and ideas that have conjured up in my mind and I cannot sleep!! I am far too excited, and probably a little manic. But I need to calm my mind and get to sleep. It's back to work for me tomorrow....


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.