Perchance and Per Chance in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Sept. 19, 2017, 1:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Title has no deeper or significant meaning other than to discuss the humor of words and language. Wife was trying to spell something yesterday and was having a “that can’t be right” moment. We all have them. You see a word and think “No. That isn’t the right way to spell it. Is it?” Hell, a Clerk of Court the other day had it for a legal term. Deferred Judgment. “No, that can’t be right. I mean… I know there aren’t two F’s but… no, yeah, I guess that is right.” Wife was trying to figure out Jaded. She thought that spelling would sound more like “jah-did” then “jay-did”. So I asked her to say the word spelled W.I.N.D. She, of course, said “wind” (as in the weather phenomena) and I said, or it could be “wind” (as in to wind around a pole). Perchance, see also perhaps. Per Chance, for each possibility of something happening.

Now that I’ve rambled nonsensically… THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOUR COMMENTS! Seriously… if I’d had support like that during High School, I would never have stayed together with Aku for so long. Hell, if I’d had support like that in High School… I might have even learned that I was considered (by some) as “attractive” and had “a chance” with more than just “whoever would have me.” alt text Maybe. I mean, I look at that picture and am still like… “Mmmm, nah. Probably not.” But that is my issue.

Anyway, thank you for the support and words. I don’t know if it will work out, honestly. I hope so. Wife is starting to recover faster from conversations like that. And admit that she needs to live her life. Hopefully, I can keep you updated without it being repeated “Yup. Nother screaming match. Just want to make sure I’m not expecting too much.” Instead, I would much prefer (obviously) “Wife came home and actually asked how my day was!” and that type of thing.

As for my today? I hate waking up and knowing that you don’t want to do your day. Just… waking up with a bad feeling or significant doubt to the day just… kind of sabotages the whole day. Woke up and instantly thought, “Ugh. This day.” Commute? Totally proved my point. Radio kept saying “NO accidents, clear roads ahead” and yet it took 35 minutes to drive 10 miles. Just… stop, go, stop, go. All on the highway. Just… stopped for five minutes, go three feet, stopped for five minutes… it was insane making. Then got to work… first person in the entire building… as per usual. Go straight to work… for about twenty seven minutes. Then… I’m pretty much done. Yeah. Hearing at 10? Client doesn’t show up. So, that’s a wasted opportunity to gain hours. So… yeah. Kind of just… not having much to do until Chinese Boss comes back and we debrief. And I tell her that several of the cases she gave me have NO leg to stand on. Bah. Time to “review files” just so I’m doing something productive, if not billable.

Oh, one last thing. To certainly reinforce that I look very different from back then? The picture shared was around the time I started dating the Wife or a little before. So… 2004, 2005. Here is what I look like today:
alt text


Last updated September 19, 2017


Sparklepants September 19, 2017

I like your green jacket!

Tempestuous1 September 19, 2017

Here's to having a good day!

Stephably September 19, 2017

You are handsome in both pics! I really hope that for both of your sakes, that your wife figures out what she wants. Honestly at this point, staying or going or whatever is a better option than whats going on now. Good luck.

nothispenelope September 19, 2017

i like your glasses.

i used to think 'sweden' was spelt wrong. also apparently the words 'plethora', 'superlatives' and um 'segue' aren't said the way they're spelt. it's ple-thur-uh not ple-thore-a. or maybe it's the other way round. and 'contextual' isn't said con [as in con artist] textual. i used to say it that way and my dad would always laugh at me and i never understood the joke. 'podiatrist' doesn't sound like a real word. even though it is. and um i don't like the word 'redundant'.

Rhapsody in Purple September 20, 2017

i know someone who has issues with the word 'ancient' because he feels like the c should be more pronounced so he says it Ankshent. And i think he said it like that way for decades before anyone corrected him and now he still pronounces it wrong because hes stubborn. but language definitely has some weird quirks.

i love your green jacket. Is that your desk at work?

Park Row Fallout Rhapsody in Purple ⋅ September 20, 2017

Desk at work in Tiny Town. The photo is of my last day in the office.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.