March 15th, 2011 (Ferncroft) in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 2:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started my new job yesterday at the country club. I am going from working at Wal-Mart with the real red-necks to working at hoity-toity land! I am excited to start making some money, but I need to get back into serving mode. Which means long hours rushing around on my feet making sure everyone is happy! And this is no "Marie's" environment. These people expect perfection! I hope I can get the hang of it, and fast. I felt we were pretty busy in the "Jone's" room, but the girls say it gets much, much busier towards the end of the month and in the summer. This is a private, members-only club and each month they must spend $75.00 in the restaurant, so a lot of them come at the end of the month to use it up before the month is over. There is no cash, everything goes on their membership card, so that is nice! I don't have to deal with cashing out and credit cards slips and all of that. Also, the tips are pooled. So depending on how many hours we work, we get a fair percentage of whatever tips amounted to and they are added onto each paycheck. It kind of sucks that I won't have cash at the end of every shift, but this will probably help me to save since it will all be on one check! The girls say they make very decent money, especially in the summer, so I am eager to see what type of amount I will be making. That way Dave and I have a good idea of what we can budget and figure out what exactly we can and cannot afford. He is on unemployment and is going to be making around $2,000 per month, so that isn't bad! We decided to just stick it out at his mom's house for as long as possible so we can just save, save, save! I can't wait until he finally starts school in the fall so we can get a BAH and use that for rent/mortgage. Then he is going to tech-school right after one semester of college, and he will be making around $15,000 in just three months! I can't wait because right now things are pretty tight until I start getting paychecks and he starts getting his unemployment checks. I am slowly getting used to driving around here, but I still am irritated at these drivers. EVERYONE honks and rides your ass and there are cops hiding out everywhere, so I'm sorry but I ain't speedin! Tickets aren't exactly in my budget at the moment, sorry. Dave and I are also waiting for Andrea and Tyler (and Herbster!) to get here! They are currently in San Antonio, TX and their next stop is New Orleans. They should be here sometime next week! It is going to be a fun few days and I hope I don't have to work too much. Weather has been really weird here. The first day was hot, then it got really cold, then I woke up and there was snow on the ground, then the next day was hot. It was nice weather for awhile and then all of a sudden I woke up in the middle of the night to lightening and thunder. Now it has been raining and I like it because it reminds me of Washington. Nights are cold, and they do not use heat because it is so expensive to heat houses out here, so they use a wooden stove that just mainly heats the living room. So Dave and I have been freezing our asses off every night and I barely get any sleep. We finally bought this mattress pad that heats up the bed and then you put a sheet over it and the bed is toasty warm! I should sleep well tonight! Tomorrow is my second night of training! I don't start making tips yet, but I do get paid hourly so at least I get that. I was getting the hang of it the first night, so I am not too worried. I really forgot how much I loved serving. Even though I have to work with a bunch of girls again, I know it will be different this time. I'm not a crazy drunk girl with "issues" to these people. I am just a quiet married gal. And I am going to keep it that way! Hahah...


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.