January 28th, 2012 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 8:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I met this guy Korie through Matt and he is a really smart dude who is super into English. He randomly asked me if I would read some of his work and give him feedback, so of course I said yes. The manuscript ended up being 74 pages, but I condensed it down to 22 and printed it out to read on the plane back to Washington. Oddly enough, it took the exact duration of the flight to finish reading and critiquing it. It seriously felt like the shortest flight ever! I actually had a lot of fun giving him my feedback, and I hope the stuff I have edited and the suggestions I wrote down for him will help him out. It just made me realize that much more how much I truly want to be an English professor. I seriously have so much fun doing that type of stuff! If I could do that for a living, wow. I would be one happy camper. I imagined myself like flying around to different states/countries and editing work for people. I don't want to be an actual editor though because I really wouldn't like reading hundreds of full-length novels without me choosing to. I would never have time to read the stuff I actually want to read! Haha, but yeah I just really cannot wait to actually have my own classroom of students, assigning essays, reading and editing work, lecturing. Ah!!

Anyway, coming back to Washington was bittersweet because I know I have to just leave it again to go back to crappy California. The first night I got back I was feeling pretty stressed/overwhelmed about everything and kind of took it out on Dave. Especially since that manuscript was fresh in my mind so of course I wanted to just talk to him about all the elements, themes, symbols I discovered and he of course was like uh what? So I was annoyed about that, but I can't blame him. He isn't a lit dude and nevvver will be. When we got home I saw he had bought me flowers and made a little note on a piece of cardboard and cooked so I felt bad for taking everything out on him. I don't know why but I was just super irritated and difficult that night. He said I just needed sleep, so I went to bed and woke up somewhat better. I just wanted to go back to sleep though, but he forced me out bed and I am glad he did because we got to take Jasper to the dog park (first sunny day here in awhile I guess!) I had missed the HUGE snow storm, which left Dave here without power for 4 days. I was pretty lucky, and was happy it was a nice day to take Jasper out since he has been stuck in this apartment forever. He had so much fun running around and there were a lot of small dogs there. We met some nice people and we saw a tiny Maltese girl, named Sophie that had the same smile thing that honey does so that was funny. She was the sweetest little maltese though and made me want another one. I realized this is probably how people who want kids feel when they see a baby. Hah! Anyway, I was trying to play catch with some pug dog and he ended up digging his tooth into my thumb nail so hard! I got freaked out because it was pretty cold outside and I already couldn't feel my feet or hands and now my thumb was throbbing. We went home and now there is a blood blister underneath! It is gross. . .but at least the Japster had fun!

Tomorrow I have to clean, clean, clean and then Monday the movers come early in the morning to move everything out! I guess the hardest part was organizing what to take with us in our cars, and what can be shipped to Mass. Tuesday we have the final walk through, and then we are off to Motel Trees in Klamath, CA! We are going to stay the night there and then go to Trees of Mystery, which is right across the street from the motel! AND we get to bring Jappy on the SkyTrain! I am really stoked for that. Then we are driving straight to a city near San Fran and staying at a Motel 6, waking up and spending the morning at San Fran, going to Fisherman's Wharf and eating some breakfast there, then we are off to Hearst Castle. We were going to go on a tour, but it is really expensive for the both of us, plus we have Jasper so we are just going to drive by it and take a look then we are heading to Solvang, staying at a motel 6, then waking up and exploring Solvang! I am also super excited about that because it reminds me of Josh. After that we are back to RC, which I am not excited about, but hopefully we can stay at my grandmas some of the time, go camping, go to Palm Springs, etc so we aren't stuck at their house the -whole- time. But yeah, anyway I am excited for our "vacation", but really sad that I am leaving Washington and don't know when I will be back. But trust me--I will be back!!!!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.