December 10th, 2011 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 2:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

AGH YESTERDAY:

So I wake up at 7:30 a.m after about 5 hours of sleep (I usually get around 12) and I get ready for work, remember it is PJ day and feel like it might actually be a chill day. I went to Starbucks, popped in my Wheatus CD and was in a surprisingly good mood. Then I get to work and realize I am 2 hours early. I think, oh well, people do this a lot because of how random scheduling is, it is pretty easy to confuse days and such. So I get my apron go to the deli and tell my manager what happened, kind of laugh about it and was about to go on with my day. She was not laughing. She was actually pissed and she is always really laid back towards me so I was confused. She pretty much told me that SOMEONE left a note last night about mid shift not doing there work (And yes John did but obviously I wasn't going to rat him out and I really didn't think leaving a note was "against the rules") She clearly thought it was me and was being very rude towards me saying it was disrespectful blahblahblah. I did say well it wasn't me who wrote it and she said it was "Very feminine writing". Anyway it was Michelle's last day there so and she was off at 11:30 so I kind of wanted to spend some time with her before she left being she is one of my favorite people and we always have long awesome talks on our smoking breaks and basically I am just really going to miss her. She used to have really short hair in the 70s and she said everyone called her Spike and I just imagined her being like me and my friends when she was our age.

ANYWAY I went to a higher up manager and explained what happened with my schedule and even he was surprised Karen was telling me to leave because he would have let it slide. I said I didn't want to piss anyone off and I'd be back at 11. I was fuming but I knew it was my fault so I kind of just got over it by the time I left for the second time to work. I get there a little early but realize I left my fucking name badge back at the apartment so I have to drive all the way back and then all the way to work again. Finally I get there and the day drags on with high emotions because all of "Karen's little followers" as I call them were basically against me and "my" note I left saying I could have been coached blahblahblah. Karen had to hold a big ole meeting for everyone in the deli to address this "issue" and totally skipped over the fact that the two people who aren't doing their work weren't even there to be talked to. She blew up the note issue and didn't even care about midshift not doing their work and pretty much said "this is old news". Ok? If it's been going on for so long, how is it okay to just condone it and have them get away with it? Obviously if they have gotten away with it for a long time they aren't going to suddenly change their ways unless MANAGEMENT changes something.

So I was super pissed all day and obviously running high on emotions with all this work stress building pressure and the fact that it is This Time of the year and all the other stressful shit going on like trying to save money, moving across the country soon, getting married. Blah. By 8 o clock and my shift ended I was so exhausted. I spent all of lunch crying and then a very higher up manager had to sit down and talk with me while I bawled my eyes out. Embarrassing. I felt better telling her everything though because she seemed to genuinely care and want to fix things and help me out. Anywayyyyyyy, I failed to eat breakfast or lunch, nor did I have any morsel of food. I was running on low energy wise but I did not care. I was going to get FUCKED up. First Friday in forever I was actually off before 11. I texted Matt since he is the only person I know who is down to go out and get drunk. At first I felt super awkward because when I was texting him he said he was drinking with friends and I totally felt like I was trying to invite myself or something and he stopped texting me after I was like "well i'm just looking for something fun to do tonight I need to get drunk". I was like alright, I'm just going to take a shower and get some rest. Maybe I don't need to drink. I like couldn't move when I got home I felt so weird and dizzy so I just sat there for like an hour. Then Matt texted me back unexpectedly and Dave was off of work at 10 so I took a shower and Dave and I decided to get a cab to downtown to meet up with Matt and his friends.

And I'll write about Last Night in another entry later!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.