Better Left Unsaid in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Sept. 10, 2017, 8:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes… I think I should just.... fucking quit. At life.

So… I woke up this morning at 6 am because Wife worked at 7 and I wanted to be awake to help with serving Breakfast and making sure she was awake on time. I woke her up at 6:30 and… she. was. FURIOUS. Apparently, despite her calendar saying 7 am… she had gotten permission to work at 8 instead. So, my “caring gesture” of “trying to help” was an irritating, horrible action that interrupted her sleep and dammit didn’t I pay attention last week when she off-handedly mentioned that she was going to go to work late no matter what. So… that’s how my day started. When she did get out of bed… still furious that I had dared wake her… I asked if I could make her her breakfast so that she would have more time to do whatever it is she wanted to do that morning. Her very angry response was “NO! There is nothing you can do. I can’t believe you woke me up.”

Then she went to work… and I did not go back to sleep (despite wanting to). I did dishes and laundry and played video games.

Wife comes home shortly after 5. Immediately starts bitching about how the pharmacy RUINED her day because her STUPID FUCKING DOCTOR said she could get her refill on September 11… and HOLY FUCK is that wrong because on September 11th, Wife will only have two pills left… her stupid, irresponsible, fucking doctor. And I’m sitting here going… “holy fuck! So… if something isn’t exactly as you want it, it is a catastrophe?” Then she grabs a bunch of cleaning products and storms out the door. I run to her and ask “What are you doing?” to which she responds, “Cleaning your car. You are driving a client this week, right?!” And storms off. I grab shoes and a t-shirt and chase after her and she is (I kid you not) scrubbing the dials on my car radio because “This car is fucking disgusting! Filthy!” I insist several times that it is suitable for a Prostitute (since that is the client I am transporting) but nope. My car does’t meet with Wife’s requirements for clean; so she has to keep going. However, she does have the time (and wherewithal) to tell me “Start chopping up vegetables if you go back inside.” Wait… why? “We’re having the risoto for dinner.” To which I said, “You mean the same risotto we had for dinner on Thursday, that I had for lunch on Friday, that I had again for dinner of Friday?” Apparently… yes. Because fuck it… if Wife is buying the ingredients, and we are cooking (I do most of prep) then why NOT have the same thing for every fucking meal? I told her flat out… no. We’re not doing that. I’ll cook one of the FOUR Bertoli Skillet meals we have in our freezer. At least that way I’ll get to eat something different.

I start cooking. I take care of the laundry and dishes. Wife continues to (essentially) detail my car because she thinks it is disgusting to have dust in a car?! She comes back in… we’re okay. For about two hours.

I don’t know what specifically set it off. But I hit pause on the Netflix, think about how impressively tired I am, think about the fact that I have another 10-14 hour day tomorrow, and hear Wife bitching about the fact that she has to be in Photo tomorrow “early” (8:30 a.m.) and how her entire day will be ruined and she’ll be so depressed and how much she hates photo.... I snapped. I’d had enough. Honestly. The only thing she does is bitch about work. She doesn’t talk about anything else except how much she hates her job… and after 6 years of it… I snapped.

I yelled at her. I told her that HONESTLY she could be making MORE money and BETTER insurance on Day 1 of working at US Bank or Wells Fargo or working a Principal Financial Call Center. To which she said, “And I’d hate it even more, so just no.” Which… of course… pushed me even more. So I was… honest. I was… open. I told her that for the entire 6 years we’ve been married, I’ve heard “I hate Wal Mart” more than I’ve heard “I love you” and I was fucking sick of it. I painted for her the picture of Omaha… a happening city of Music, Theater, and Friends that she repeatedly said was one of the worst things I’d ever done to her. So fine, fuck it. We’ll move back to Iowa. HELL, as a Prosecutor in a small town, WIFE DOESN’T EVEN HAVE TO KEEP WORKING! But she chose to keep a Wal Mart job part time because she didn’t want to just stay at home. But… while we struggled with Tiny Town and while I tried to learn a job with ZERO help… Wife kept bitching about Wal Mart. We move to Des Moines. I take a job that I’m still kind of excited about but it offers ZERO funds and ZERO insurance. Wife is saying how her “life is worse than ever!” now. And frankly… I’ve had enough. If I wanted to experience this kind of constant downer, I would have married Aku. She was crazy, violent, and tried to kill me… but at least our sex life would be PRESENT.

And so… I told Wife, in no uncertain terms, that I was DONE with her song. I actually said, “Wal Mart is terrible, I hate my life, I’ve never been this miserable.’ Top ten hit from 2012, lost ALL OF IT’S APPEAL five years later!” And… Wife is trying to make me feel like I went overboard. By telling her the “I hate myself, I hate Wal Mart, I’m so miserable” chorus has been THE ONLY constant in our entire marriage… (accurate).... apparently, I’m the asshole. So she has decided to not speak, not make a noise, for the last hour. Because when a “Holy shit, stop making everything in our marriage about how much you hate the job you’ve had for fifteen years” speech erupts… the mature response is The Silent Treatment. Christ.

And while Wife (likely) thinks I come here to bitch about “how terrible” she is… I’m actually here because I don’t know something. She is making me feel like I’m the monster for speaking up about this. Am I? Considering our entire relationship has been 70% “I hate wal mart”, 10% “we’re weird, but we mesh” and 20% “inside jokes”.... I mean… am I unreasonable to (while going through a significant job issue… again) be just.... done with her constant “I hate Wal Mart, I hate life, someone do something!”


Tempestuous1 September 10, 2017

I don't think you'RE wrong, in fact I applaud you for sharing your feelings. I'm sorry she is reacting that way. (((Hugs)))

Deleted user September 11, 2017

You stood her constant complaints years longer than anyone I can imagine. I agree she needs to know you are fed up . I wonder if she can change though, it seems to be her personality :-(

Amaryllis September 11, 2017

I'm sort of iffy on this only because my husband thinks I am 'always complaining' and he 'needs me to be more positive.' That said, I do complain, but my complaints are mostly in the form of strategizing - 'How can we make this better? How can we solve this problem,' and it sounds like your wife likes to complain but doesn't like to fix things. So...I think you did the right thing.

As you've said before, BOTH of you are stressed and miserable right now. It sound like she got used to the pattern of her being the stressed miserable one and you being happy (in law school) and is having difficulty breaking that pattern now that you also need support. She needs to change her perception on the issue, or things will never get better.

Hang in there. My husband and I just went through a really bad period - but now, things are finally looking up again. I was able to change my perception a bit. I do think there is hope for you both. She's in a bad place (at Wal-Mart and in her thought patterns) and needs to fix it. How to do that, I'm not sure. Something needs to change. For me, it getting the grifter out of our house and spending more time alone and with my husband. Those were our issues, though, and I'm sure yours are different.

Also, I might have been poisoning myself by taking too many iron pills..I know that sounds insane but I have felt 60% better in body and mind since I caught my dosage mistake. My best friend says I am like a different person now >_> I had been taking too many for 6 months. Brain chemicals are amazing. A nutty conspiracy theory, to be sure, but I like those.

This is rambly. It's 2am and I'm putting off going to bed. Also, wine. The end.

stargazing September 11, 2017

I think the only problem is how you said it. Waiting to get to the point that you are yelling at her...how many times have you actually listened and took to heart something that was yelled to you? Most ppl just get pissed off and feel righteous. I certainly get it...you can only take so much and she isn't good at listening to you. And I've definitely gotten to the point of yelling in my own relationship but it's never been effective. Telling her when you both are calm and in a more loving way would have been better. I know first hand that doesn't always happen tho :)

Skikkles911 September 11, 2017

I am so glad you said that to her. She needed to hear and you needed to stand up for yourself. This is a good step.

Nash September 11, 2017

It's so hard to know what's going on reading someone else's perception of their life. However, reading you it seems that you are a good and reasonable person. Having said that, I don't know how you stand it. There is absolutely no way I could exist in a marriage like that.

the girl with a pipe September 12, 2017

This girl's perspective:
Your wife is basically hijacking the harmony in your relationship with her constant, miserable bitching. Sometimes it takes one partner to take a stand to get a bit of power back in the relationship. She is angry because she feels powerless in her life, and it's easier for her to be miserable and treat everyone as her goat, than to put her big girl panties on and grab life by the balls. I would want to know why she is hesitant to make a change for herself and then support her through that change as necessary. She can learn to be stronger and less afraid of change. Good move on your part, taking a stand like that! You have the power to help her grow in this situation....I hope that both of you will grow from this, actually.

Always Laughing September 12, 2017

I think it was about time you spoke up. Maybe it might have been bad timing, but it needed said.

caramelchicken September 13, 2017

You're not wrong to speak up for yourself. She's taken no responsibility whatsoever for her own feelings, it's easier to blame it on you. Maybe you wouldn't have snapped at her if she was capable of properly communicating rather than just bitching and blaming... to be honest I stopped reading a lot of your entries because I was sick of reading about how she treats you when you've bent over backwards for her!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.