The Disgruntled Weather Gods in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 29, 2017, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is about an 80-minute walk from my place to the grocery store I normally go to if I go the long way. And other than a short cut up the hill behind me that knocks about 15 minutes off there really isn’t a short way because the big street that goes there mostly has no sidewalks and people drive fast on it, heck the bus drivers drive fast on it even though it is curvy.

There is a speed monitor on the worst part of the road that says you are supposed to slow to 35 mph and the buses are often going much faster than that when we get there.

And because of my recent bus experience I am looking for other ways to get there. So a few days ago I walked. This is a patch towards the end of the walk. I saw my first ever Golden-crowned Kinglets up close in here last year. It is lovely and mostly serene depending on how many dog walkers and runners are out and about.

I talked to St. Joe yesterday about moving my lunch hour up a half hour so I could take an earlier bus shopping and he was game and it worked out so I will never ever need to take the bus with the irresponsible surly driver again. I am sure she has some compelling story and suffers but my arm is still bruised and I don’t want to go there.

I feel self-conscious talking about myself with so many people suffering in Texas and Louisiana. I wonder how our President is going to make this about himself today.

But anyway I had a great class last night (other than the fact that I was somewhat uncomfortable and self-conscious about talking about myself and my story to illustrate the power of a regular yoga practice to help with health and resilience) and was chuffed to see the students all cheerfully interacting with each other after class.

That sense of the beloved community totally warms my heart and we are seeing so much of that in these endless stories of folks taking care of each other during this catastrophe we are facing as a nation.

This totally (in a general sense) predictable catastrophe based on the science of climate change. Not that I have an opinion about this or anything?

How on earth can you not be touched and terrified by the photo of the assisted living facility where 5 older women are sitting in a room together as if everything were normal in water up to their chests. OMG.

On a totally unrelated note based on my experience recently fooling around with eating various foods and weight gain and inflammation I am chagrined to say I think I may have a sensitivity to, umm, oh Ms. Trendy here, gluten.

Corn and Soy and Onions for sure, I am solid on those allergies but only hippy fad food folks that try the next diet craze are sensitive to gluten right???

I am not talking about Celiac disease, which I get and feel compassion for, but I have a resistance to the idea that I, Ms. Tough Guy, Warrior Yogi and all could have developed a sensitivity to this this highly manipulated wheat we have in our food supply these days.

My eyes glaze over and all I want to do is eat more. Mr. Finch used to point this out to me when I got near a bowl of pasta.

The good news is that means I can still have a modest amount of sugar and dairy, which I love, even though I know rationally I can’t treat cheese as a food group. :)

I shall report back on how this experiment goes. In the meantime I am donating what I can to relief orgs and holding all those displaced folks in my heart and praying to the weather gods that the rain finally finally stop.


Last updated August 29, 2017


ODSago August 29, 2017

All of us have to donate, don't we? How could we not? I saw the nursing home photo and I must say that it is singed into my brain. That is a charming trail you showed us and I am so glad that you have worked out a new routine to avoid that horrid bus driver's antics. I have a sister who has many food allergies, so my heart goes out...I have only to avoid lactose. Which because of my sister's situation, I know is a blessing.

Deleted user August 29, 2017

I have been glued to the news and horrified and heart broken for those in Houston.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.