Look Ma, no hands! in Tips and Tricks

  • June 18, 2013, 11:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And now for some more cool formatting tricks!

How about a quote?

> I can ride my bike with no handlebars.
<small>Flobots</small>

I can ride my bike with no handlebars. Flobots

Or a numbered list?

1. Uno
2. Dos 
3. Tres
4. Cuatro
5. Cinco
6. Seis.
7. Siete.
8. Ocho! (I just shouted it in my head)
9. Nueve
10. Diez
  1. Uno
  2. Dos
  3. Tres
  4. Cuatro
  5. Cinco
  6. Seis.
  7. Siete.
  8. Ocho! (I just shouted it in my head)
  9. Nueve
  10. Diez

Those of you with an attention to detail will notice the width of the number 10 didn't throw off the formatting (yeah, it's getting converted to an HTML ordered list)

Let's see... what else...

How about... a named link?

[I love the Oatmeal](http://theoatmeal.com)

I love the Oatmeal

How about... something you want to put asterisks around, but don't want it converted into italics (in other words, don't convert to Markdown):

\*cheese\*

cheese

And here's the secret code to make my arm come out of the screen and give you a high five:

[high-five-from-the-prose-jesus]

....

OK, just kidding on that one. But wouldn't it be awesome???

Oh yeah, and if you want to show your own code in a box like I do multiple times in this entry, just put four spaces at the beginning of the line. :)

UPDATE:

I fixed my named link in the entry so it was no longer a Youtube link... now that they automatically embed, it didn't make sense in the entry context.


Deleted user June 19, 2013

I know the sekret codes! Get crackin' on that high five thing. Bwahaha!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ June 19, 2013

I'll keep you posted... ;)

Teflon Superhero June 19, 2013

Oh no, all this time I didn't bother to learn the formatting on Reddit...AND THIS IS THE SAME FORMATTING AS REDDIT!

I KNEW I SHOULD HAVE STUDIED! I KNEW IT!!

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ June 19, 2013

Interesting, I've never posted on Reddit. But hey, if it's cool enough for Reddit (and Stackoverflow)...

. June 19, 2013

Yay! More awesomeness!

Decayed Elvis June 29, 2013

The numbered list bit is always one of those little things for me that somehow actually becomes a big thing, formatting-wise. I love it!

Decayed Elvis June 29, 2013

And BAH!!! HA-HA-HA!!! "The Prose Jesus"!!! YES!!!

Linda July 08, 2013

Thanks!

Rick July 11, 2013

Prose Jesus? Ha ha! :)

simple mind Rick ⋅ July 11, 2013

;)

Linda July 20, 2013

You may have posted this already and I apologize for making you deal with something you've already dealt with, but I've done some research and cannot find a markup for centering text or photos or whatever. The markups suggested on other sites don't work here. What's the secret, or is centering just not an option?

simple mind Linda ⋅ July 20, 2013

Not currently, there's really no way. As a left-align guy I hadn't given it much thought. But I could add something to the style sheet when I get a chance so there's a way.

Linda simple mind ⋅ July 20, 2013

Thank you. If you get a chance, I'd dig it, but it's not a deal breaker. ;)

Krud July 20, 2013

I am SO glad you mentioned that "don't convert to Markdown" thing, because in the last post I was sitting there fretting, thinking, "Okay, do I complain about not being able to put asterisks around things? Or do I just accept it as the inexorable forward march of formatting progress?" This saves me from that dilemma. Thanks!

LivingWaterCreek July 31, 2013

Well my bookmarks are crazy full with entries and I have only two people I follow. How do I set my page to only show the latest entry?

simple mind LivingWaterCreek ⋅ July 31, 2013

Currently there's not a way, but I plan on adding a bookmarks option to show latest entries grouped by user.

beauty.inside.me January 31, 2014

I would like to see where you can customize the viewer base per entry, or am I doing it all wrong? I could just make a friends only box lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.