Sixteen Seconds in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Aug. 17, 2017, 2:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is funny. Now that we live closer to family; I thought I’d see them more often… or at least be able to speak with them more openly. I want to ask my parents for advice. Exhausted and frightened, unsure of my next steps… I’d like to rely on my parents for sage words. But I can’t find the way to express myself. “Mom, Dad… I know I spent a lot of money and time, but I don’t know if I even want to be an attorney. Not like this.” That isn’t right. “Mom, Dad… I know I hated the last job; but it was clearly where the job was that was the problem. Here… the culture of the office, the nature of the clients, and the expectations are the problem.” But… grargh.

And what infuriates me most about the job right now? White Boss, who doesn’t trust me and thinks I’m a fuck up, isn’t teaching me things like “How to build/set up a defense case.” He just says “Make sure you don’t miss filing deadlines.” And that’s it. Uhm… I asked you for help building a defense. Your return advice is unhelpful.

alt text


Rhapsody in Purple August 18, 2017

its an odd mentality to think someone is a fuck up but not give them any help. Surely if he's not teaching you, he must have some sort of trust in you to get things done without guidance. Surely your work reflects on him and its in his interest to help you do a good job.

Always Laughing August 19, 2017

No offense to you, but they should have hired someone else that would fit they really need to in their office and I don't think it is you. I think you could be a great lawyer just not in that environment.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.