Changing It Up...Slightly in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 14, 2017, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes! An interior shot, hard to believe but true. Now that I am healing (still won’t be able to chew on the right side of my mouth until the holidays) I have decided to make a commitment to really see if I can get back under my goal weight and stay there.

Besides keeping my activity level up and trying new things I have decided that my new secret weapon in this valiant fight is…

Dinner.

I have a group of beautiful cookbooks all about cooking for one and vegetables and there are so many resources online.

This prep was for a wonderful Moroccan inflected vegetarian stew with garbanzo beans and the secret ingredient, yes, a turnip! A lowly much maligned turnip. It is so yummy and I have a bunch of it frozen now.

I also roasted beets and cooked up the greens to add to things. Saturday I made rice and baked a sweet potato.

Sweet potatoes have points in Weight Watchers world so one doesn’t just get to bake it and eat a whole one. One cuts it in 3-ounce sections.

But they do make a good little snack.

I found being at home and cooking very comforting this weekend. I still shiver when I think of those people with heavy boots and helmets and sticks walking by my place weeks ago to go to the Alt-Right Free Speech rally here. The one I stayed away from as a counter protestor.

Just in case anybody is under the illusion that this difficult time (brought on by the empowerment of heated rhetoric and a man who would be king) in our country is only happening in Virginia.

I thought I was doing okay about it all until I took a break and read an eye-witness description of what it was like on that street full of folks trying to express their dismay peacefully and that car full of testosterone and rage came barreling down on them. I started to cry.

Our president used the word egregious when responding.

Does he even know what that word means? What a mess.

We will make it through this. I do know that. But I do not think it is going to be easy. The seductions of anger and moral outrage are so strong.

We did have rain. Not a lot, but enough to cool things down and clear the air a bit.

And now it is back to it. All the regularly scheduled programing.

Except this time it will include…dinner!


Last updated August 14, 2017


mcbee August 14, 2017

Does he even know what it means? Highly doubtful. Intelligence in the country's top position is apparently not important any more...along with knowledge, morals, ethics and ability. Mueller needs to get this investigation along as fast as possible and get that whole regime out. So frustrating.

Lyn August 14, 2017

Brava.

I'm sure your vegetarian stew was wonderful.

I feel like there is sanity in the world when I read your posts. 👍

ODSago August 15, 2017

I have a tasty roasted eggplant with tomato stuffing recipe that I make...eat one half for dinner one night with a protein of some sort and the other half heats up nicely in the microwave the next night. Recently lost ten pounds, doing a protein and a veggie or two at dinner.

edna million August 18, 2017

Your dinner-to-be looks delicious! And what is going on is beyond belief. It's just stunningly insane that there are actually people marching around in Nazi uniforms and brandishing swastikas, and the "president" thinks it's fine. And that anyone objecting to them is on the wrong side, apparently. Maybe he won't last much longer. I don't see how he could, but I also didn't think it was remotely possible that he'd get elected in the first place.

Deleted user August 22, 2017

Your dinner looks lovely but I find I hate cooking more every day . It's getting to be a big problem. :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.