Feeling Grumpy in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Aug. 10, 2017, 1:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I am feeling grumpy.
Last night, apparently, I snored too loudly. So I started my day with my wife expressing how extremely upset and tired she was because I was snoring.
I then drive an hour to Boone where I am told to wait for an hour before I can speak with my client.
My client should 100% fight these charges. We may lose. But he is being charged with some things that CANNOT be proved. So he should fight.
I then drive an hour back. Meanwhile, White Boss asks “When are you coming in?” Dude… talk to your wife. I had a thing in Boone and then Chinese Boss wanted me in Ames to meet with some clients then spend 4 hours doing Iowa State University Event Advertising. So… my day is pretty well spoken for.
The Ames Office is 80 degrees; so I sweat through all of my clothes instantly upon getting in.
White Boss texts me to send him all the work I do today before filing it so he can check it over.
Chinese Boss texts me asking me where several files are. Not for the first time I think “Get. Fucking. Organized. Woman. I don’t care how you do it… but throwing files in a drawer is NOT organization. There is this great thing called the Alphabet. It is what I used when I was a Prosecutor. If you alphabetize cases by last name; they will be easier to find when you need them.” Of course, like every other time this week… she finds them. On or around her desk.
So then after the work stuff for today (which might just barely be over 4 billable hours today) I get to spend 4 hours with International Students trying to convince them “Trust me, take a business card. You’ll need us at some point this year.” Then an hour drive back home (putting me at home right around 8/8:30). Wife gets off work at 10. And as I will be trying to sleep, she will be bitching about how much everything in her life sucks beyond the telling.

AND tomorrow… I get to work in the Des Moines “office” (meaning library space) and Saturday I get to dedicate my entire day to (not DnD as was on my calendar but) Chinese Student Association Speech. OF COURSE that, as with the event today, is UNPAID! So… a 6 day week… of roughly 60 hours… for shit pay… and a wife that makes a Prozac overdose sound more and more like a “nice vacation.”

Would it be selfish to say I could use a nice spiritual break from all of this shitty stuff? Like… a solid month where Karma and the Fates just… make everything go well?


Pinkerton August 10, 2017

Yeah, you have totally earned a break from dealing with crap like that. Hopefully karma is indeed "a thing" because you've got something really nice lined up if it is.

Always Laughing August 13, 2017

not selfish at all

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.