Unsuccessful in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • July 31, 2017, 9:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have three days to rack up 20.9 billable hours.
That means I should average about 7 billable hours per day.
alt text
The good news is… one of the other attorneys around here needed me to cover two of her court cases today. So… a nice little bump towards those hours. But that means Court all morning… or (as it works out) I started my work day at 8; I got back to the Office around 12:30. 4.5 hours of work? No, actually that was 3 hours of work. And life devours 90 minutes.
Get back to the office… review a translation for a Film Director wanting to come to the states. SWEET! He’s long winded so that takes another hour! Cruising right along to 4 hours… but then? Piddly stuff. Like “draft a letter”, “answer the phone”… resulting in a (so far) 8 hour work day of only 4.5 billable hours. I’m a fuckin’ masochist, though, so I’ll stay here until I get my 7. Even if that means I’m not going back home until 10.

Then I get to worry about the next two days. And what I’m going to do/how I’m going to get 7 hours on those days.


Deleted user August 01, 2017

This job is so stressful for you :-(

ODSago August 02, 2017

My husband worked 70 hour weeks often in his practice but it was not like this--is this the way all law offices are run? I remember your explanations of the system...there should be a base salary that is reflective of your years of education and experience...then options to make more by working more cases and hours I'd say. Just such a grind as it is... and for what? I feel sorry for you.

Always Laughing August 03, 2017

At least there is work you can do although it isn't enough

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.