Our visit to Cornwall in The View from the Terrace

  • June 30, 2017, 4:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After my last entry the weather cooled down a lot and I am feeling so much better that I am now sure it was mainly the heat that was making me feel ill. As that heat wave seems to have passed I decided to wait for my original doctor’s appointment scheduled for yesterday, but on Monday I had a call from them to say that my doctor couldn’t now do that day. She said I could either wait until next Thursday or see a different doctor today. Initially I chose today’s appointment, as I thought I shouldn’t wait much longer, but I was getting so stressed at the idea of seeing a new doctor that I don’t know at all and who might be a locum that I called back and switched to Thursday 6th. The breathing symptoms have almost gone but I do need to find out what caused it, also I have been getting a bit dizzy sometimes but only for a few minutes, I think it’s OK to wait and see someone I know.

It is now 2 weeks since our return from our trip to Cornwall and I haven’t written about it yet. We stayed at a pretty little caravan park at St Minver near the north coast. Our stay began with a very funny incident. After checking in and making a few essential purchases at the site shop we went to find our caravan. I started unpacking the food and noticed that the fridge wasn’t on. I went to turn it on but couldn’t find where it was plugged in so I asked Hubby. He eventually pulled it out and discovered that it was plugged into a socket behind but there was no switch. We simply couldn’t figure it out so Hubby went down to the site office while I made up the bed. A maintenance man came very quickly, I was really impressed. He was a lovely friendly man, but he couldn’t work out what the problem was. He replaced the fuse but the fridge still didn’t work. He asked me to try the kettle in case power was off in the whole caravan but it worked fine. Then he plugged the fridge into the microwave socket and it worked. He said the socket must be faulty and he would send the electrician. About a half hour later the electrician came. He spent about 20 minutes trying things and seemed equally puzzled, then suddenly he noticed a switch on the wall on the other side of the caravan labelled refrigerator. He turned that on and of course the fridge worked! It was hilarious. We hadn’t seen the switch even though it was near the one for the kettle and I had already turned that on; the maintenance man didn’t know about the switch; and the electrician took 20 minutes to find it. We apologised for wasting their time and he went away to make some notes somewhere so that this didn’t happen again.

After tea we went for a walk around the caravan park and found a little path that led to the local village. St Minver is a truly charming unspoilt Cornish village and I fell in love with it.
alt text

The next day we decided to explore the local beaches. We were only 2 miles from the nearest, a place called rock Rock. It was on the estuary of the River Camel with a lovely sandy beach and a little ferry to take you across to Padstow. We have been to Padstow several times and looked across at Rock but had never been there before.
alt text

Later we drove a little way up the coast to Polzeath, this was my favourite of the places we visited, a beautiful beach. We bought ice creams and just lazed in the sunshine for an hour.
alt text

At the end of the day we visited Port Isaac. This is the place where they film Doc Martin one of Hubby’s favourite programmes. The streets in the old village are narrow and very steep and only residents are allowed to drive there. We parked on a cliff top car par and walked down. I loved the name of the shop.
alt text

The next day we went to the Eden Project. This is a wonderful place where gardens and habitats from different parts of the world have been created in an old clay quarry. There are two biomes one rainforest and one Mediterranean.
alt text

In the Mediterranean biome Spanish, Californian and South Australian gardens had been created. The first part was the Spanish garden.
alt text

I loved the flowers in the Australian garden.
alt text

The rainforest re creation was amazing.
alt text

You could even walk through the tree tops on a tree canopy walkway.
alt text

We had a great day there. We had been once before 11 years ago but it has really grown since then.

I have decided to divide this entry into 2 parts as there are a lot of good photos and I can’t choose between them.


patrisha June 30, 2017

I am English although I live in the States and I would go back to England every couple of years to see my sister who lived in Somerset. Every year we talked about going to the Eden Project but it was a place we never got to go to together before she died.

Sabrina-Belle patrisha ⋅ July 02, 2017

What a shame. Somerset is lovely, do you still visit England occasionally?

Marg July 01, 2017

That was so funny about the fridge switch - I wonder what possessed them to put it so far away? Lovely photos - these biomes look amazing! Looking forward to reading about the rest of your trip :)

Deleted user July 01, 2017

My relatives are from Cornwall but I think it's St. Austell .Does that sound right ? Where you were looks beautiful !

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ July 02, 2017

St Austell is near the south coast and only a few miles from the Eden Project. We stayed there for a week once.

Deleted user Sabrina-Belle ⋅ July 02, 2017

I really want to see it someday .

Deleted user July 01, 2017

I hope your doctor gets you feeling better soon !

Deleted user July 01, 2017

We have to grow Scaveola and Kangaroo Paws in pots :-)

^..^Kat July 03, 2017

How beautiful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.