Out of One Thing and Into Another in meh...

  • June 7, 2017, 1:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…this is actually comical to me, but in the end they got what they wanted.

So, there is a credit card that, on the maximum, I’ve used a total of 3 times. Two times in store, one time online. I’ve paid this down to $70 and then, as my life goes, all hell broke loose. So decisions were made and this was not a priority pay for me. This decision led me to a build up of over $300. I’m calling bullshit. I almost sent them a letter to say, “Let me pay that $70 dollars and be done with it. How ‘bout that for a settlement??”

So I accept a phone call thinking it was a scam. So of course, I have someone with a heavily outsourced accent (this term used by former bff that I said won the award for strongest non-racial racial slur) and she said her name was “Daisy.” Okay.

So Daisy and I were on the phone for 45 minutes. She sounded really concerned reading from her script, asking what happened that I didn’t make the payments. So I told Daisy, because you know, this is the closest I’ll ever get to actually talk shit to about the situation. I tell her, “I paid this thing down. It’s only this much because of y’all. I was going through some rough patches that I STILL haven’t recovered from and now we’re here.” Did you get to tell someone about your hardships? “No. My phone was not in service.” Thank you for being so honest about this. She asked me why a lot and I answered her like I want to talk to these people that call me at work. I wasn’t nasty about it, but I was irked. Like, “I mean, you have your job to do. I get it. Your job is to collect. I ain’t got it.” So then comes the conversation about options to pay them back.

The title of this is in reference to me, upon next pay check, being free and in the clear of one loan I have out there that is very expensive and I would never deal with them again. My goal is to never deal with these types of things again period so…

So it’s one down, one to go, and $30 some-odd dollars for 6 months to pay off the discounted rate of whatever it is because I opted to have my account checked per pay period. I’m so sick of debt. Then in July I have student loans starting which I need to call them because I’m still not a working paralegal despite my searching.

So yeah. Yeah. I’m going to make it. One day.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Deleted user June 07, 2017

Hang in there!

Sister Deleted user ⋅ June 07, 2017

Thank you very much...

Comfortably Numb June 07, 2017

If it helps, you're farther along than I am in Life-ing. Hoping to get a fresh start so I can actually build my credit and stuff back up, now that I've totally hit bottom. Every little bit helps, right?

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ June 07, 2017

Right...
As a matter of fact, my credit took a hit because of this card. I was building it up as well but this thing did me in.

Deleted user June 08, 2017

One step at a time Sister, I've been in and out of where you are so many times, I've just started the cycle right over again (medical bills, not credit cards, but it feels the same). Hang on, you'll make it out.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ June 09, 2017

Thank you for the encouragement.
I got my first statement for the student loan.
It's actually a reasonable payment, but when you're scraping nothing is reasonable.
I got this. I got to got this. lol

Deleted user Sister ⋅ June 10, 2017

Just keep saying it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.