This weeks stories/hearing in Second 1st

  • June 1, 2017, 11:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently it was too rainy for mom to be camping this week. I’m cool with that but the offer stands. Turns out I volunteered to go to a cook out Monday at Alicen’s group home that I was completely unaware of. I had nothing else planned so I went. Spent the day teaching Joshua and Alicen to throw a frisbee… play badmitten.... listen to Alicen complain.... talk to Molly about Alicen complaining … Molly telling us Alicen was fibbing and how it really was. Got there at 1 didn’t leave till just after 6 and the food wasn’t even ready.... some people just shouldn’t have cook outs lol. All in all it was a good day really. Molly told us that Alicen is not aware that she can leave of her own will and she has no intention of telling her. Molly also made it clear to mom that if ever there was a time to get Alicen’s rights now was the time. Alicen is unable to care for herself that is why the hospital released her to … and only to… a group home.

Krystal came over after work Tuesday as promised. She didn’t pick anything to eat so I fixed a few burgers on the grill at 6:30am. We caught up chit chatting and she walked over my yard telling me what kind of plants I’ve got and stuff. She dug up a few bulbs of things and took them home with her. We swore to do this again sooner .... the last time we hung out was New Years. Honestly, doesn’t matter much to me I love low maintenance friends.

We got groceries and stuff yesterday.

This morning I had that appointment with the ENT. I actually kinda just got home. Rocky didn’t go with me and honestly I’m glad he didn’t though I was mad at him when I left. I hate going places alone, especially if I have not been there before. I felt so stupid finding the place. In the end though I made it in plenty of time and finished new patient papers only 5 mins after my appointment time. I got back there and explained to the lady who was doing blood pressure and weight what had happened. She sent be to the back for a pressure test, All was well there.... hearing test, not so much. When the doc came in they explained I have lost 22% of my word recognition. … there were some t’s that could have been d’s in the hearing test words for my right ear :(.... I think I repeated dust as thrust or something.... The doc showed me the hearing chart. She explained to me that I was an excellent candidate for a hearing aid. This is where if Rocky had been there I would burst into tears. … also where I will likely cry when he wakes and I tell him the results. .... One of 3 things has happened..... 1) I may have you regular run of the mill getting older hearing loss. This seems unlikely because that kind of hearing loss happens over time and people generally don’t notice it until they can’t hear something they used to be able to. Also, I’m too young really and that the loss I have came suddenly. .... 2) There could be a tumor or growth on my auditory nerve. To rule this out I’m scheduled for an MRI this coming Wednesday. .... and 3) There is apparently an indiscriminatory virus that will attack your auditory nerve. The sooner that is treated the more likely you will regain the hearing loss. However, it’s been nearly 2 months. We will start with some steroids and we may try some shots directly in the ear after that. She had seen this happen in males and females … youngest 15 oldest 80… just sudden hearing loss BAM … and doctors always seem to think it’s the E-tube.

My script for birth control will be ready after 11.... thought I’d just come back home and hang out then go pick them both up. I’m still scared. This may be permanent. This is likely permanent. I’m an excellent candidate for a hearing aid. I should be happy that if it is a virus that it didn’t take all my hearing in that ear.... it’s a possibility..... also, the “full” feeling comes from not hearing certain tones at all as well as the muffled sounds. The achy and headaches are actually a common side effect of hearing loss.... at least till you “get used to it” :(

So as far as hearing update… MRI wens. and a follow up appointment in 2 weeks to check in on the steroids and discuss the MRI and if I should do shots.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.