Slowly I am in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • May 9, 2017, 10:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, can’t take it. Going crazy slowly I am. Yesterday… well, yeah, might as well give the whole of it.

Yesterday, the commute to work took 55 minutes (usually takes 30) so it wasn’t a good start to the day. However, I was still in the office before 99% of the people that use this facility; including every single person related to my firm. I did note that one of the other firm’s secretaries had arrived before I did. I set my items down in the conference room they call my work area and grabbed a drink of water from the Break Area. When I heard the unmistakable sound of a loud crash and things falling from a bookshelf. I peeked my head into the office next to the break room and there, sitting on the printer, was a pigeon. Apparently, over the weekend, a pigeon had gotten into the office and had chosen that specific room as its hang out until such time as it could escape. With the return of humans to the office; it was trying to leave but simply flying around the room, smashing itself in to things. I retrieved that office’s secretary and the two of us were able to get the bird out of the office.

And that was the most productive thing I did all day. Honestly. Chinese Boss and Chinese Assistant were meeting with the Iowa Secretary of State representing Chinese Business Interests. So they were out of the office the entire day. I only have 3 cases active right now. And White Boss had a telephonic meeting at 11:00 and that was his whole day. So… from 9 (after the bird) until 6:15.... I sat in a conference room. Reading Immigration Materials on my computer. And after all of that time; I can summarize what I read thusly:
Immigration Court is not directly related to the Department of Homeland Security (the department responsible for Immigration); therefore, when submitting anything to the Immigration Court, you must also submit to the Department of Homeland Security separately.

That was my entire fucking day. So… no billable hours. No additional cases. Nothing.

Aaaaaaand today! I had some mild gastric distress this morning, so I did not arrive at the office until 5 minutes to 9. And yet… the only other person in the office was the secretary from yesterday. Twelve minutes later, Chinese Assistant comes in… and asks if I have anything for him to do. Of course not. I don’t even have anything for me to do. Meanwhile, it is (at present) 9:35 p.m. and I am the only attorney (of any firm) presently in the office. And because of what has already been discussed… even with all of that, if I don’t receive any further cases or any projects today… I’m here until 6:00 or 7:00 tonight. Because I need to “work harder” and “put more time in.”

Seriously… for both Wife and I… we moved to Des Moines, we got back “home” but our work? Our work is just like back in Tiny Town… but somehow worse.
For her: She is still at a remarkably slow store; but as the co-workers there keep the store tidy… there is less to do.
For me: I am still handling a very small case load with little to do; but as I am no longer on a Government Salary… the pay is based on productivity, so I’m doomed.

alt text


woman in the moon May 09, 2017

Do you read Paul Campos at lawyersgunsmoneyblog.com?

Park Row Fallout woman in the moon ⋅ May 09, 2017

Have not heard of him; but totally going to check it out!

Deleted user May 09, 2017

Sheesh! That is not good :-(

Deleted user May 09, 2017

lol a pigeon at the office!!

Tempestuous1 May 09, 2017

That's pretty funny about the pigeon lol. I'm sorry you're struggling still.

QueSeraSera May 09, 2017

Damn... anyone in office generating business? Where is your BD and Marketing peeps. Catching up

Rhapsody in Purple May 10, 2017

Did pigeon leave much mess around? When i think about pigeons inside, i think it must be pretty messy.

Always Laughing May 13, 2017

Sounds like you might really need to consider looking for work elsewhere.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.