Not New in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • May 5, 2017, 11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This isn’t a new entry. This is the continuation of the last one; I guess. BEcause… I still can’t get over it.

Immigration Law is difficult. Especially when you’re trying to juggle cases of Criminal Law, Family Law, Juvenile Law, and Business Formation. Especially when you have no ability to communicate with the clients at all.

I’m (trying) to work my ass off here. I’m in the office an hour before anyone else. And yes, I understand White Boss and Chinese Boss do a lot of work that I don’t see… but why can’t they give me that same recognition. For example; yesterday morning, I had to go to Ames because the bosses couldn’t do it. NOT BILLABLE. Yesterday afternoon, I covered White Boss’ criminal court matter because White Boss was driving Chinese Boss to Omaha for an Immigration Court matter. Or how about this afternoon. Where I went to the jail to talk to one of White Boss’ clients for him. Or how I covered a Juvenile Court hearing for him this afternoon. Why? BEcause Chinese Administrative Assistant, Chinese Boss, and White Boss were going to a “networking party” thrown by the Iowa Chinese Society. Yeah, it is work because they are there in an attempt to get more clients. But… seriously, guys? In the last two days, I’ve covered for you 4 times but I’m not a hard worker because I leave between 5 and 6. I’m just… this is just… yeah.

What they don’t know: Dissing my work ethic is a huge insult to me. A deep cut that wounds me badly.

What they don’t see: me struggling to wrap my head around all of this stuff.

What they don’t appreciate: Law School + Career; I’ve spent the last 6 years gearing for Criminal Court and Juvenile Court. Business and Immigration were simply not part of my life. So yes… maybe it is taking me longer than they had hoped to wrap my head around it… but saying I’m not a hard worker? I’d rather you call me dumb for not understanding Immigration Law than say I’m not a hard worker because I leave between 5 and 6.

Tragically… if I do get fired… that would be the end of my legal career in a lot of ways. Because I couldn’t just go work for another firm in Des Moines after being fired for “being lazy.” Nobody would hire me. And it would be rude as fuck to quit on them just because of this disagreement.

I e-mailed Brother and Dad just to check in. Neither of those two think or behave like me; so if they say I’m just being overly sensitive, so be it. But if they say I’m right to be so upset, I’ll have to give it some consideration. I want to make money. I want to be a good attorney. But… seriously… they told me “Working 30, 35 hours a week just isn’t going to cut it.” They assume I’m working 30 or 35 hours a week. That is… just… hurtful, y’know? I don’t wake up at 6 am; haul my ass out of bed through Commuter traffic; unlock the office at 8; take a 30 minute lunch if that; and skip out of work “early.” Just...... upset.


Deleted user May 05, 2017

That's what I said. Don't worry about quitting being " rude". It's business and to me it seems like they are trying to take advantage of you . If they don't know how many hours you are there , they are not very professional .

stargazing May 05, 2017

I've heard many stories about lawyers being expected to work 60 hours a week. No thanks. I couldn't work some place that didn't think life balance was important.

Skikkles911 May 06, 2017

Don't give up. Breathe in, breathe out, and remember that this will be beneficial in the future. You're gonna get the experience and it will pay off the insane work you're doing now. It will.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.