Nullification in 2017

  • April 30, 2017, 10:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can feel it’ll be one of those sleepless nights. Just a feeling. We had the “Mozzarella and Margaritas” party that some friends hosted earlier, that was super fun. I could just tell on the drive home that I won’t be sleeping much. A good night to update. Also, my stomach is imploding. I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to eat dairy when you’re sick, and I’ve kind of only been doing that. Whoops.

I have been sleeping a lot this week. I went down to Medford last weekend, but otherwise I’ve mostly been in bed. I keep getting sick. This week was the third week in a row, and definitely the worst. I think I had been sick last time I updated? So basically all since then, I’ve also been sick. I don’t understand it…I still had a lingering cough when I went down to Medford last Thursday, and by that Sunday it was mostly better. It’s like as soon as I got back to the apartment, it regenerated. I got congested again, I’ve had stomach pains occasionally, some mornings my abs have been sore as if I worked out, but I think it was from coughing during the night. Do you cough when you sleep? Is that a thing? I’ve learned not to take any more classes at 9 AM. Lately I haven’t been able to sleep until 5 or 6 AM anyway, but still, it wouldn’t be good for the future.

So I haven’t been working much this month, and the last 2-3 weeks of classes have mostly been missed. I did go in for a math exam Wednesday. Several times I felt like I couldn’t breathe. I didn’t want to open my mouth, because I knew I’d have a loud-ass coughing fit. Not ideal at any time, also not during an exam. I’ve just been sleeping, playing Persona 4 and 5, and drinking a metric fuckton of orange juice. Also eating Popeye’s chicken? Somehow that became SUPER appealing this week.

I think I’m almost over it for good, but I’m probably going to have to drop my Computer Science class. Again. There’s a big project due today, a quiz, a lab, and there’s a midterm quiz Tuesday as well as a proficiency coding test. Not being there twice a week for the explanations in-class is a killer. I think I can salvage math, and boxing and tennis don’t really matter. The CS classes are really what I need, so this is another setback. I’ll just have to make the most of it and study up during the rest of the term. Honestly, I may have slacked off even if I could focus. In fact, I know I could have. Time management and procrastination are things I’ve always struggled with, and it doesn’t get easier with age.

I also got pulled over a couple weekends ago for speeding. First time ever. I shouldn’t have been out that late. Shouldn’t have happened at all. There’s this super weird/insane chick I hung with a couple times, and she called needing a ride home. I gave her and her brother a ride home, headed home, and then she texted me because he forgot his phone in my car. Ugh. Should’ve waited til the next morning, since it was like 3AM by then, but I headed out and I guess didn’t slow down fast enough when it went from 45 to 35. I have a court date next month, not sure what will happen. If it goes on my record, that may be it for Lyft driving. They’re pretty strict.

The only really good thing that’s happened lately is that my tax returns were great. I expected to owe money, instead I got way more back than I could have hoped for. I just got my federal, which was 3K-ish, and I’m still waiting for the federal, which is a few hundred. Very timely, since I’ve been sick and haven’t worked much this month. I’m also going to try to head down to Medford and trade my car in next month. It keeps having problems and is just a shitty car anyway.

I need to get a haircut tomorrow. The stuff on top is actually mostly down to my chin, which is the longest it’s been. I hated it for a while, but wanted to grow it, and a couple months ago finally grasped the very basic idea of getting the sides and back cut short and keeping the top stuff. So I just need to get that stuff trimmed. Maybe I’ll take a picture. It’s purple, though it’s fading, so I’ll probably dye it again soon. One of the perks of not having a real job I suppose.

Yeah, that’s been this month mostly. Feeling crappy and playing way too many video games. I probably went a bit nuts when I got my school loans and cleared out my Amazon credit card. I bought Persona 5, Persona 4 Dancing All Night(actually not terrible, but certainly a fanboy purchase), some other cheap PS4 games, and a portable hard drive for my PS4. It has a 500GB hard drive, but that’s like 8 games these days. It’s nuts. Why is there so much shit installed on the hard drive when Blu-Rays hold so much data? Anyway, now I can have all my games installed. Hopefully I’ll stay busy enough to not have time to play them. Once I’m healthy again, I need to get back to getting back in shape. I also gotta brush up on Japanese so I’ll be ready for the second-year classes in Fall, and learn coding stuff. I certainly shouldn’t be playing video games, but I know myself too well.


ViscousNightshade May 04, 2017

Sooooo couple of things about your sickness: if you're throwing up, I would check your apartment for irritants (or gas leaks legit). But as far as congestion/coughing at night that might be a sinus infection or some other sort of secondary infection. Sinus infections usually go away on their own after six months (listen to me talk like this)...but antibiotics may help. If coughing is keeping you awake, there's this nasty tasting codeine syrup. It will number your throat. And also make you crash out. I have to get a prescription in colorado for it, but I've heard other states have it over the counter. It's stronger than nyquil - hella stronger...so you might look and see if you can get some of that.

P4 Dancing All Night is ONLY fan service. I fucking love it. We're still playing P5 but I ragequit in the sixth palace...we'll have to get back to it eventually, I just need a minute. -_-;;

Medisinn ViscousNightshade ⋅ May 09, 2017

Hmm. I was never throwing up. It's mostly cleared up now, but it did last quite a while. I still seem to get nauseous and tired easily, but I'm almost there.

Haha. P5 reminds me a lot of the first game, it's certainly more brutal than P4 or even P3. I'm only at the museum. I played P4 Golden pretty much consistently until beating it the other night, and seemingly getting the true true ending. I think it's my favorite game now. I was legit super sad when you had to go around and say goodbye to everyone. There's still the animation to find and watch, and then the fighting games too. Have you played either of those? I have Ultimax already through PS Plus, but it seems like P4 Arena has a different/earlier story, so I'm wondering if I should get that.

ViscousNightshade Medisinn ⋅ May 09, 2017

The persona 4 animation is AWESOME! Well, there's two of them...we've seen the one actually called persona 4 animation but I haven't seen the other one that just has Golden content (it's only subbed, I don't know if I can even buy it in the US yet). We've played Ultimax and Arena. In fact, I have a Chie figurine and Dylan has a Mitsuru figurine based on the spin offs. <3

Medisinn ViscousNightshade ⋅ May 10, 2017

Huh. Is the Golden one just the Marie stuff then? And the extra end-game stuff(at least I'm assuming the two extra bosses and dungeons aren't in vanilla Persona 4)?

Nice! I'm still figuring out who to play, I like Chie so far. I don't recognize some of the characters, but I haven't beaten Persona 3 yet. I almost feel like I should before I do any of the story stuff. I'm surprised they didn't put it on PS4, it seemed to have a big following. I did read an interview where the dude who headed up both fighting games said he wants to make a Persona 5 Arena if there's enough support, so maybe that will happen in a couple years.

ViscousNightshade Medisinn ⋅ May 13, 2017

I think Marie was the major addition...I want to say the final bonus boss is only in Golden too but I could be wrong. Some of the voice acting changed too, because I think they added extra unplayable content.

I hope they make spin off games of Persona forever. It's a disgusting addiction.

Medisinn ViscousNightshade ⋅ May 14, 2017

Me too. What else could they do though? Fighting, rhythm games...hmm. Though everything they release seems to be good to amazing and sells pretty well. I wouldn't mind another game like Persona Q. My copy apparently is defective, so I can't finish it. Maybe I should just buy another one.

I didn't play the original, so maybe that's why I vastly prefer the newer Chie VA. A spunky, slightly grating voice with lots of inflections seems way more fitting than the original scratchy-voiced VA.

+.:hidden-feelings:. May 08, 2017

Hi there, hope the sickness has gotten better by now! Sorry I never note. I'm basically a terrible human being. heh. ;)
Does Oregon not have a thing where you can take a one day class so the speeding ticket isn't reported? I know we have that out here. Basically you have to admit guilt, pay the fine, pay for a class, and pass whatever test they have [they do them in-person & online] and then nothing gets reported to DMV or on your record. Look into it if it's available!
Also, I'm pretty surprised you got so much money back with having to report self-employment on the driving gig. That's awesome!

Medisinn +.:hidden-feelings:. ⋅ May 09, 2017

Hah. It's not like I've been around that much anyways. Thanks though. I'm mostly better-ish.

I think so? Not sure yet. Hoping that's what I'll be able to do. I'll find out next week.

I was definitely worried, considering it was my first year of filing as self-employed...it worked out way better than I could have imagined. I guess I was able to write everything off though. No wonder big companies get money back from taxes!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.