Accident in 2017

  • April 28, 2017, 12:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before I get into that, I just wanted to mention that I haven’t heard from the Dr yet about Evelyn’s surgery date.

Also, I’m working for the township helping out with the evacuees. Decent money, easy job. Temporary.

So, today. My mother and I were to go to the city to pickup supplies for said job and we realized the weather was absolute CRAP so we figured we should go borrow my dads truck. Just to be safe. The highways around here get freaking crazy.

After we picked up the truck we headed back to town(dad works about 5-10kms out of town) and we see a car in the ditch on its side quite obviously freshly there. I scream at my mom to stop the truck and I told Siri to call an ambulance. The truck haven’t even stopped moving and I jumped out and ran across the road to the car. It was laying on its side.

I don’t know what kind of details I’m allowed to say but the mother who is also the passenger of the car, had climbed out of her window which was facing the sky, and was screaming at me that there were children in the car. I ran over to the car and they were in there and their gramma had already started unbuckling them.

I smelled and saw smoke so I wanted them out fast. The back window of the car was smashed and there was the tiniest hole because the car was mangled around it… we managed to get the 4 year old out first and then the 6 year old within minutes.

Hearing them all screaming and having them bleed all over me and 911 on the phone talking to me while getting freezing rained on, is something I’ll never forget. I’ll never forget the fear in their voices, the terror in the kids cries… how the little girl was frozen solid as she snuggled in next to me once we got her to the truck.

Her name is Paisley.

I held onto that kid. My coat is covered in her blood. We watched teen titans while waiting for the ambulance. I held pressure on her wounds with a towel my dad had in his truck in case of emergency.

Her aunt (the other kids mother ) was in hysterics. It’s all such a huge mess. We couldn’t get her to breathe properly and relax so she didn’t hyperventilate… apparently she did pass out in the ambulance or got light headed or something.


I wrote that yesterday and here we are today, friends on Facebook and I went to see them this morning. Paisley saw me and gasped and ran and jumped into my arms. It’s sad that they live across the country as I feel like we have a special bond now.

What a crazy day it was. We had to give our statements to the police etc. The paramedics said I did the right thing by taking them out even tho I thought we should have had everyone wait until they got there. The smoke I saw and smelled was apparently from the air bags… but he said since they already unbuckled the children it was better that they get out of the car. And the car was unstable being up on its side like that. Just so dangerous.

I always have wondered how I’d react if I was to see an accident or be the first person on scene. I knew I could handle it mostly. Of course this wasn’t terrible, no one was dead. But I did what I thought I should do, I made some quick decisions and kept everyone mostly calm.

Seeing them smiling and happy today, warmed my heart. They are so grateful to be alive today. They are sore, but they are alive.

Kristen <3


.:A_Shadows_Exhale:. April 28, 2017

Well done. :)

Hotaru April 28, 2017

Good job. I'm glad you were there to help get them out and keep them company while you waited for help to arrive.

Deleted user April 28, 2017

Wow ! Glad they had you there for them .. so scarey

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.