I Suppose That's Typical in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • April 14, 2017, 5:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Got in to work today around 8:45.
Actually, didn’t have anything left to do so I was semi impatiently waiting for Bosses to arrive and give me a project or something.
An hour later, I get a call from White Boss. They are doing some house renovations and one of their workers just showed up (hours late). But Chinese Boss was going to send me something I needed to look into.
I check my e-mail and… WiFi crash.
30 minutes later, WiFi is back up. And I get an e-mail from Chinese Boss (with details of the project) and an e-mail from The State (with a new defense client).
So… I suppose… here we go!

(Ah, calling the DOT for a client. DOT wait times at or above 30 minutes). Which reminds me… billing. Private Counsel billing. Bah and bullshit. So I’ve been at work for two hours. At best, my billable hours are 0.5. So, while being at work for two hours; I’ve “officially” done 30 minutes worth of work. So, I guess, this is the reality of Private Counsel, eh? The other thing, and I’m okay with this as this is normal… I don’t get “all the money” for my billable hours. I work for a firm now. They cover me with their knowledge, office rent, malpractice insurance… they get first crack at the financials I bring in. This is how law firms always work. AND I actually have a pretty generous set up here. If I’m helping them on a case, I get 15%. That is actually awesome considering that my “help” on cases at the beginning is going to be a lot more like “hurting”. AND I get 50% of the cases I bring in. So… if I bring in a case, I actually get even share to the money as the firm. That’s odd as usually the firm always takes a lion’s share. However, intelligently, the firm knows that the majority of cases I’ll bring in (especially at first) are going to be State Public Defender Appointment Cases. So whereas most lawyers charge anywhere between $200 and $500 per hour… SPDO (what we call State Public Defense Office) only pays us $60 per hour for Appointment Work. So… definitely glad that I get 50% of that!
Then… calling the San Antonio Immigration Court… again… because they never answer my freaking calls!
And… noon (like bloody clockwork) the WiFi goes down.
Hungry. SO… food.

Now… PC Head Scratchers. Trying to figure out how to get my system synched to theirs for my appointment since… now that I have a client… they need to figure some of that stuff out. THAT, above all, is where I hope things go well here. I’m learning, they are learning… it is a learning process for all of us. So, if we can give each other patience and support; that’ll be good. As opposed to Prosecution. When those people had decades of experience working with an Assistant Attorney. And still didn’t know what they were doing or how to make anything happen.

BOOM. Got the PC and Printer hooked up. Had a brief rundown of what to do as a Defense Attorney. Time to… defend a guy? Certainly not what I expected I’d be doing after law school, lol.


Deleted user April 14, 2017

Happy Easter ! Glad to read things are going ok !

Always Laughing April 14, 2017

Tempestuous1 April 15, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.