First entry in Evangelina's Journal

  • April 13, 2017, 3:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m trying to get the hang of the Prosebox format, so this first entry is just me testing the waters. I can’t swim (haha) so I hope I don’t drown. Rather a chilly day here today, and my husband is staining our back deck. But in general spring is outside springing and I’m glad of it. Yesterday I planted some vegetable seeds in those little cardboard pots and set them outside in one of those tiny greenhouses. I hope the cardboard doesn’t fall apart when I need to water them again. We spend so much on plants from the nursery that it made sense to at least try to grow our own little plants. I did cabbage, zucchini, yellow squash, cantaloupe, and eggplant. I have carrot seeds but I’m going to try planting those later directly into large buckets (leftover from cat litter). I’ve tried carrot seed directly in the ground and end up with gnarly little stumps. A neighbor said she grows hers in loose soil, in buckets. Makes sense! I never gave it much thought that a root vegetable would need looser soil if it was going to go anywhere, so to speak. Well, that’s enough for a first entry. We have church tonight at 7 p.m. (Holy Week) and I’m going to make a small frozen lasagna for dinner. Easy, and not much clean up!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.