Day 1 in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • April 3, 2017, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are SO many bookmarks to catch up on!
I plan to start (and keep working towards finishing) those when the Apartment is finished. I’ll have my desktop back up and running.

April 3rd. Two Thousand Seventeen.

I am still certainly not feeling well. Not only am I perpetually exhausted; but my throat is super sore, I am still getting loads of post nasal drip, lots of solid mucus that is the wrong color… just overall blah.
I can deal with it. I was a VERY ill child and as long as I don’t have a fever over 100; I’m good to go to work/school.
Other issue of being ill, though? It increases my libido. With how things have been with the wife, plus her period, plus just everything lately… that’s a no go. No sexy time in the near future. Aaaand… here’s an interesting thing. The last sex with my wife that I remember was in February. The last time I wrote about it. Wife claims that sometime in March, we both got really drunk and had sex. I remember none of that. I don’t remember the drinking or the sex.
But… also… with everything around the house and everything else going on… I have no opportunity nor time to enjoy my libido myself.

Went to work. Work was… interesting/fun. Shadowed White Boss to a Juvenile Hearing. Chinese Boss flew in from China last night and got held up by immigration. She came in and was EXHAUSTED. We told her that she didn’t need to come in today; but she said that she wanted to be present on my first day. Very sweet. Then we all went to lunch on the Company Dime. Then Chinese Boss gave me an assignment. And left. Because… yeah; she was exhausted. So I tried to do my assignment.

ONLY TO DISCOVER that my new laptop did not work. So… I bought the laptop on Friday. Loaded it with my legal documents on Sunday. Monday… no working laptop. SHIT. SHIT SHIT SHIT.

So … shit. I did all the reading she gave me, and then asked White Boss what I should do. He set up best he could with a desktop temporarily.

After a few hours of work; White Boss took me to a Local Lawyer Get Together. Funny thing? When we got there… I recognized Judge Huppert (I was in High School with his daughter); Justice Wigguns (I was in high school with his daughter); Judge Porter (he taught a CLE when I was a prosecutor); Dan Manning (we went to Law School together)… and Dan introduced me to a few other people. All in all, White Boss said that I knew more people before the event then he knew after! LoL. Perks of being from the area.

Left the event and went to Best Buy to get my laptop fixed. They said they could fulfill the warranty and that would take two weeks. OR they would exchange it, move any files and programs from the one to the other, and I could have it back within 2 days.

Then I came home. It was 7:30 p.m. Wife was trying to figure out the kitchen.
She told me, proudly, that she did not cry today. And I find that to be such an important glimpse into my wife. She has worked in 6 different Walmart locations. She has worked for Walmart since 2003. AND YET… new store? Still makes her want to sob. She said she would have broken down sobbing had she had more time in the day without working. I don’t understand it, really, but I’m here to support and care for. (Though… it does again make me wonder/worry if she is here to support and care for me :/)

And that is/was my first day at the new firm.


Rhapsody in Purple April 03, 2017

seems like a successful first day except for the dodgy laptop. Do you have to supply your own laptop? I would have thought that was given to you by the company if you are using it for work

Park Row Fallout Rhapsody in Purple ⋅ April 03, 2017

It is part of the current issue in process. They want me to take over their satellite office at some point... there, they will give me a desktop, an office, and a parking space. Until then? I have to supply my own laptop, work out of the firm's Law Library, and pay for Parking Ramp fees.

Tempestuous1 April 03, 2017

Bummer about the laptop. Hope you get to feeling better too!

Deleted user April 04, 2017

that always happens on the first day- meeting and being introduced to everyone in the office, find the break room....and find that you have no working computer

Always Laughing April 04, 2017

At least work went well.

Deleted user April 04, 2017

Except for the laptop it sounds like it went very well !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.