322 in idea barrages

  • March 22, 2017, 12:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1.) Nearly every conversation I’ve overheard in this airport was about medical troubles (dialysis, two different cancers) but sure, fake president, kill healthcare.

2.) It scares me that I’m no longer afraid of flying. Flying remains as incomprehensible an act yet I’m just numb. Loss of some survival reflex?

3.) Tomorrow morning, I’ll have about a five hour layover in Dulles, spending more time in the DC area than the fake president has all year.

4.) The college girl in the “ALF” shirt made no sense to me until she stood up and I realized it actually said “YALE”.

5.) The vapid luxury products on the in-flight teevee must’ve been exactly what the devil tempted Jesus with in the desert. Such empty opulence.

6.) Food items that are “rustically” paper-wrapped only to reveal a plastic antiseptic sheath beneath enrage me to an incomprehensible degree.

7.) Understand the difference between the inspirational & the merely aspirational. So many dollars & lives have been lost in the confusion.

8.) Protest votes are rarely on principle, mostly smug acts of distancing, unwilling to take on the “stain” of a complicated-but-correct choice.

9.) I wonder if Helen Hunt has ever idly flipped past “Jurassic Park” on the teevee and asked herself “…was I in that?”

10.) We are all pretending. We are all becoming. Openly admit the former. Fully embrace the latter. You’ll know at least a little more peace.

11.) Repeat this to yourself if you’re ever getting strident: “the perfect is the enemy of the good”. It’s the wisest thing I ever heard.

12.) Sometimes you have to save the world before you go to the work of changing it. Inflexible ideals are worth little on a dead cinder.


TeaNCrumpet March 22, 2017

I agree with everything, especially #6. It drives me bonkers that grocery stores boast f their cleverly marketed organic produce that we take home in plastic bags.

Squidobarnez March 23, 2017

high-fives

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.