Wah-Uh in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • March 12, 2017, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am probably going to get in trouble on two fronts.

(1) We found a lot of good places on our apartment hunt yesterday. Including a place we could both agree on, with 3 bedrooms, for an acceptable price. However, as Wife was completing the application form last night… there were lots of questions she had. She asked me to call the place to get those questions answered. I’ll admit mixed feelings on that. If she is working today, it makes sense that I make the call. But I’m not exactly a fan of the whole “My wife has questions and I hope I’m conveying those questions properly since she couldn’t make the phone call or even be here when the phone call was being made.” That being said… I’ve not exactly had a weekend or a weekend day in weeks. It has been work 5 days, DM for two, repeat for the last three weeks (or more). Take that plus the Daylight Savings jump… I didn’t get up (and had nightmares) until 3.

That’s okay! I got up, went straight to my phone and… didn’t have the phone number. So I looked over the contracts that we got. No phone number… no Apartment Name listed. I checked Wife’s notes… no Apartment name. Okay… I googled what I thought was the name of the Apartment. I did not get the number.

So when Wife comes home… I’m going to be in trouble for not doing what she asked me to do.

(2) My favorite cousin married someone that… well… the family isn’t exactly thrilled with. The guy is arrogant and loves three things (1) Golf, (2) Weed, and (3) Pretending to be an expert in Comic Books. All things considered… he isn’t a bad guy… just not a guy that considers other people. He was in charge of the Family Gift Exchange this year. In our family gift exchange… the person in charge picks the theme, sets up the Secret Santa pull, and (at the end) sets up the Gift Vote to determine who is in charge next year. We’ve been waiting for him to set up the Gift Vote since Christmas. Finally, after Wife announced that it is time to vote (a number of times)… He put up a survey for voting. A survey that included 8 votes. Out of 20 gifts exchanged. So I simply shared on the Family Facebook Page the other 12 gifts that he couldn’t be arsed to put on his survey.

In our family… there is Saving Face, Underlying Hostilities, and Politely Keeping the Peace. My actions fly in the face of that. So… I’m a little concerned that some family members will come out and take me to task for embarrassing the man… they will do this because the family has hostilities with the man they don’t want to face… and see my actions as overtly hostile. Something to be a little concerned about.

So… Wife will be angry that I didn’t make the phone calls, family likely will be angry that I’m stirring the pot. Meanwhile… I’ve got some work things to finish this week.... I need to fill out some forms for the new job… grumph.


Tempestuous1 March 12, 2017

They'll get over it.

Rivercity March 12, 2017

Now I'm thinking you can meet and be friends with my cousin and her husband who live in a Des Moines suburb. I have these special feelings about Iowa because my parents were both born there, and I did a graduate degree there. Sioux City, Pella, Iowa City--yo. I wish you the best.

Deleted user March 12, 2017

I concur: They all will get over it .

Purple Dawn March 14, 2017

Always Laughing March 14, 2017

I understand why you say she will be mad, however I don't think it is justified because you tried to call the place. As for the gift exchange thing oh well, you were trying to help.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.