On what's next in On loves.

  • March 10, 2017, 12:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are things I don’t say.

I don’t talk about how sick I was when we stayed on Tonsai Beach in Thailand. Don’t talk about how I could barely move, I felt so bad. Don’t talk about how I laid on the bed beneath the mosquito net while he packed up all my things that were strewn all over the hut. “I’ll do it in the morning,” I said. “I think you need to sleep as much as you can,” he said as he organized and packed my things.

I don’t talk about how we spend all of our flights snuggled up together. How he puts sunscreen on me in thick layers so I don’t burn. How he sometimes says to me, “Baby, did you know that you’re just a baby?!” How we are both cheap as dirt, even when it comes to deciding where to eat in Thailand. How, a few days after all this happened, we walked around Bangkok at night, past women and their babies begging on the street, and gave them money and he talked about being conflicted about being on vacation in a poor country, about walking past these desperately poor people on our way to get drunk.

I don’t talk about how he always offers to share his mango sticky rice. How he loves dogs more than anyone I know. How sometimes, when we’re sitting next to each other, he leans over and sniffs me. “What?” I’ll ask. “I just like the way you smell,” he says.

I don’t talk about how it was all so good, until I stopped to write out all the good and realized that, sometime between Then and Now, the good kinda got washed away.


“Just came across cheap flights to Bejing/Shangai,” he texts me this morning.

And it occurs to me that he has no idea how breakable we are.


Last updated June 12, 2017


One Angry Dwarf March 10, 2017

Did he address why he compliments other women's bodies all the time if he doesn't care about bodies?

Also, saying "your body isn't an asset" is actually worse than saying "I don't like your body," IMO, because it implies literally no one should like your body. But I bitched about this in my other comment and you responded already but IT JUST MAKES ME SO MAD. GOD.

"Probably" likes your body LIKE WHAT THE HELL DOES THAT EVEN MEAN. As though humans can't tell within 30 seconds of seeing a body whether or not they like it? NAH DAWG, I'M STILL WEIGHING THE FACTORS, IT'S LIKE A MURDER TRIAL, MAN, YOU CAN'T EXPECT THE JURY TO COME BACK AFTER ONLY... 2 1/2 YEARS, AM I RIGHT.

Alice, Falling One Angry Dwarf ⋅ March 10, 2017

He did not... though to be clear, he doesn't compliment them all the time. But there have been times when he's said things like, "Yeah...that's a great ass." or once when we ran all over a shopping square trying to find a woman he said had perfect tits so I could see them too.

Aside from that, I don't know what the fuck any of the stuff he said means. (But totally agree with the "your body isn't an asset" being worse than "I don't like your body." Like, it's objectively bad rather than just not his taste.)

Perpetually Plump Alice, Falling ⋅ March 10, 2017

I'm not an easily offended type, but I would absolutely be offended by my guy dragging me all over a shopping mall to show me this perfect set of tits. And if he feels the need to show you what a perfect ass actually looks like, I'd probably be offended that he needed to make sure I knew what a perfect one looked like. Man.
I want to give him the benefit of the doubt and think he meant your body isn't an asset, because you have so much else to leverage and women shouldn't have to think of their bodies as currency, but based on what you've said, that's not at all what he meant. Wow.

Espoir Trouvé March 10, 2017

All the good can't outweigh his indifference to your pain.

caramelchicken March 10, 2017

It sounds like he's more concerned with "accurate representation" than your feelings, and more concerned with correcting you than reassuring you. I would find what he's said hurtful too. If he does find you attractive, it's not hard to just say so, especially if he seems to have no problem commenting on other women. Ugh! He might be good in other ways, but that doesn't cancel out these issues. Why is his first reaction to get angry and defensive? Why is he not more concerned with making sure you feel good?

rhizome March 10, 2017

I think those are entirely different categories of things. He's definitely a good friend to you, but there's a sexual component to your relationship that he's not able to fulfill. One doesn't necessarily compensate for the other.

Alice, Falling rhizome ⋅ March 10, 2017

Yeah, you're right. <3

Thrice June 22, 2017

Trying to find every entry I missed. Check. I love your writes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.