On and on.... in The ugly truth about making babies

  • March 9, 2017, 2:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And so it begins. Had my blood tests on Saturday, as directed. Received a letter yesterday to say I need some repeating. Would be helpful if I could remember what she’d even ordered for me!

I know one of them was thyroid function, so I’m assuming it might be that given that it can be repeated any time. The other hormone related ones are taken on particular cycle days so I wouldn’t have thought it was that given that she tried to book me an appointment for two weeks time! I pushed a bit and a mysterious ‘cancellation’ came up at 12 today.

I hadn’t realised it was just for bloods, I thought it was actually with the doctor, or I’d have just asked for a blood form and got one of the girls in work to do them for me tomorrow.

It’s a little stressful, we know that joey has a problem obviously, it’s always been my fear that they’d find something wrong with me too and that would affect our options. Best case scenario, there’s nothing wrong and it’s just some glitchy reading, best case of things that could be wrong, underactive thyroid, I’d start meds and probably lose a little weight into the bargain. Worst case it is one of the hormone related bloods and who knows what implications that might have.

I feel like I know too much. I know where to look for all the scary information, I know what the blood tests mean, I know what it means when someone tells you to take pain killers BEFORE you’ve even arrived for a procedure, I just know too much. I don’t know if it would be better to walk into this blindly, to be a person who has no medical knowledge at all and just does as they’re told without knowing what to expect. I wonder if ignorance really is bliss you know?

I hope I’m worrying over nothing, people quite often have slightly abnormal bloods and they turn out to be nothing. It just signifies so much in this instance. If there is something wrong, who knows what the knock on effect for our future prospects at parenthood might be. I’m just glad the managed to fit me in today rather than in two weeks!

Xx


Last updated August 25, 2017


Camdengirl March 09, 2017

I suspect you are right - doing it "normally" (sorry I know that's not the right word to use, but I haven't had enough coffee to come up with a better one!) you wouldn't know any of this, but you'd just hope the percentages fall in your favour... It's the same when you get pregnant: For 95% of people you have a baby, but for that 5% who don't, it doesn't make a difference if it was bad luck or not, it's still their reality. I definitely felt comforted by all the data. It seemed to be running in my favour - and then I turned 35 and I started being a bit freaky about it, particularly since they buggered up my harmony test and ultrasound dates...

*moonglow* March 09, 2017

waves hello

Hope you don't mind, but my friend suggested I came to say hello as I am also trying to get pregnant and have started at the clinic. At the moment though, I have to get my weight under control before I can get any further investigation.

Fingers crossed it's a quick process of support for you xx

*moonglow* March 09, 2017

waves hello

Hope you don't mind, but my friend suggested I came to say hello as I am also trying to get pregnant and have started at the clinic. At the moment though, I have to get my weight under control before I can get any further investigation.

Fingers crossed it's a quick process of support for you xx

Glitter and Trauma *moonglow* ⋅ March 09, 2017

Not at all, lovely to meet you! Just had a quick flick through some of your entries and my god you could be inside my head writing my feelings.

Just about to write about my blood test today, so many investigations before we've even seen the consultant, and this is just the beginning. I just have to keep reminding myself of the end goal, we want a baby, a family, and all this crap, it's just a means to an end.

Xx

*moonglow* Glitter and Trauma ⋅ March 09, 2017

It does feel like a massive mountain to climb doesn't it?? And yet...for people... well I like to say that some women just seem to have to look at a dick to be pregnant. Xx

The Tranquil Loon March 09, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.