Let Me Do This Right Quick in meh...

  • Feb. 22, 2017, 10:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My baby sister and I kind of had a confrontation about the press conference thing. She made a post (I effin hate Facebook) about when you go through something and God brings you out of it, you have a testimony to tell. I agree with that statement. However, that video gave thanks a couple of times, then another sister was fixing her hair, scanned the room, gave thanks, a holy dance that seemed staged, then baby sister singing. Like I said yesterday it was full of ADHD moments and giggling it served no purpose.

Then I thought about this:
Not trying to downplay the God factor in anything, but the procedure was not a problem. The condition was fixable and it was fixed. I praise that he made it through, but it wasn’t a big deal to begin with. Well, kind of a big deal, but not enough to garner THIS. When someone is ill, someone is going through something that is close to me, I don’t blast it. That’s just my thing. Any time I speak, I think, am I saying something about it to get attention for me? Because they don’t know the person I’m speaking about. It’s not about me. I may tell a few close friends and after that I update them about it. I guess I need a little support, but the person going through needs support. Do you understand what I’m trying to say? I know what I’m trying to say, but it’s seemingly jumbled. To announce something to a bunch of people, is it to inform or to get the “aww…we love you” type comments? I come here to vent and relate my life stories. I can just as well do this in a paper journal, but I’ve got so many of them sprawled all over my life full of starts and stops. ::smh:: I don’t know.

Like my cousin. I recently asked him when his baby was due. Just last week, the babies died. I didn’t even know they were twins. He was lamenting on Facebook and didn’t really say what was wrong. So I reached out personally and he told me. Do I do a Facebook Live video saying, “We will trust in God to bring our family through. Our dear cousin has just lost his twin babies. Please pray for our family.” Now I get that some people share their grief, but the majority of people on Facebook and their “friends” don’t even know each other. I think I can actually boast that 95% of the people on my Facebook I am either related to and we actually talk. I am very careful who I let into my world. So like when I did post that my sister died, whenever I feel emotional about her, they know how I’m feeling because they know what my sister meant to me.

But what do I know? I’m old school and old fashioned I guess.
Maybe I’m selfish.
My ways are different. That’s just how it is these days I suppose.

::shrugs:: Oh well. Can’t win them all.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Comfortably Numb February 22, 2017

We call that "attention whoring" . It's all about how many likes and upvotes and comments you can get and it's annoying as hell. I totally understand about your sister's death- that affected you and was someone close to you. But to carry on like your sibs-- ugh! I feel for you, having to bite your tongue. The problem is, if you say anything, then it'll be OMGTHEDRAMA and all about them. Even though it's hard, I agree you're wise to not say anything.

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ February 22, 2017

I love them, but they really irk me...

Comfortably Numb Sister ⋅ February 22, 2017

I think that's pretty much the definition of family in a nutshell, lol. "I love them, but they irk me".

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ February 23, 2017

lol

Deleted user February 22, 2017

You have some good points here. There was a time I would do just what your sister did. I wanted prayers. I wanted MY worries eased. I have anxiety about losing people I love. It bothered people so I stopped, and have become more reserved on facebook about things like that. It's hard to know where the line is on social media because it is different for each person, and is used differently by different people. And you aren't wrong for being old school. It has dignity and grace.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ February 23, 2017

Everyone handles things differently. I too have anxiety about losing people. For some reason, it's like my eyes, my mind doesn't wrap around time passing and people aging and therefore when they die, it hurts me to my core. I think people should live forever even though I know they don't. I'm more of a reflector or I may say, "Hey everyone, we're kind of going through over here. Keep us in your prayers." And then if someone comes and asks depends on who it is whether or not they will get the full story. But my sisters, biological and step are, as Comfortably Numb put it, attention whores. I don't like the spotlight nor do I need it for validation on anything. Maybe they are just overly confident.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.