Conversations in meh...

  • Feb. 16, 2017, 3:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Seems as though the grandkid had a great Valentine party at school. Despite the fact that his mother didn’t pick up the valentines we both bought. She bough one box, but looking at the flyer, the entire kindergarten class had a joint party so I got another box. I filled them out, put them in his backpack, and took them to her house. She wasn’t there, but as I was leaving she drove up. The next morning, I found the kiddo’s uniform shirt. ::grrrrr:: So before I went to my bus stop, I fixed a lunch for him and I his uniform shirt. Wouldn’t you know it, the screen door was locked. So I left the shirt and lunch box in a corner where no one could see it (hopefully) and I’m happy to say that no one saw it.

I got home yesterday and he gave me my favorite piece of candy. “Gaddah…I have something fooor yooou…” and my handsome boy produced his only peanut butter cup. He knows I love those. Later on, he gave me one of those mini tootsie pops because it was wrapped in my favorite color (purple) and then gave me a sweet tart pop just because. I, in turn, made pizza from scratch and used my heart shaped cake form to cut out the shape. It didn’t act right so I used my one knife and actually cut it into the dough. I made one for the son, a smaller one for the kid and just a regular roundish shape for me.

After dinner, I was on the couch and he was bouncing around as usual. He then started asking me will I still be alive when his friend a grown up. I told him that was the plan. He started saying he wanted me to be in love with his friend which I didn’t understand why he would want that. Then he asked if I would still be alive when he got to be a grown up. His tone took a somber turn and I said I think I will. I don’t plan on going anywhere. Then I asked why. And he said with tears in his eyes, “Because I don’t want you to pass away, like Auntie Traci passed away and I won’t ever see you again…” and he just sobbed and I motioned for him to come to me. I wondered what on earth made him think about my sister or me in the vein. I still don’t know. I held him and soothed him and told him I wasn’t going anywhere and that I had not planned on going anywhere.

He can make me so angry sometimes, but I love this child with the whole of my heart. If no one else ever loves me, I know my grandson does.

And that was my Valentine’s Day.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Deleted user February 16, 2017

Sounds like a great Valentine's Day. What a sweetie your grandson is.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ February 16, 2017

I think so on both counts...:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.