Thrown at me in 2017

  • Feb. 6, 2017, 9:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

2:29pm

Welp, I just got called out at work. Not like in a bad way, but in a mildly embarrassing-I’m probably not going to live this down-kinda way.

I was just sitting around, minding my own business, when someone walked up to the window and peeked inside. I turned to see who it was as TF pressed his face against the glass. hah. I did not expect that! I put my hand against the inside glass and he started laughing and walked in. Not even giving me enough of a head’s up to go look in the mirror. haha. I flipped my hair out of my face just as he walked through the door. I didn’t even know what to say. Like how do you act all normal-client around a guy like that??


Let me backtrack to update after the last entry: I got out of work, drove out to our friend’s house where they fed me a giant bowl of pozole and a beer, and I went home and sat down to watch a movie. I pulled out the laptop to see the gossip on fb and logged in to my acct. to find a couple e-mails from him. He’d sent the first about 20 minutes after I left work and then another around 8:30pm [right around the same time I got home]. [Clearly I freaked out for nothing!! Always.] We ended up exchanging e-mails back and forth until around 10pm when I assume he went to sleep because he had to be up at 5:45 the next morning. The exchange was really good. It was just quick replies but there were jokes and laughs about being on different planets. I asked how we’d ever find each other and he said if I promised him a kiss he’d build a rocket to get to me. haha! I told him that I was terrible at making promises and he laughed and said, “you and me both.”

So of course I replied saying that that was good to know! Especially since a proposal is kinda like a promise. He responds, “Why Do You hate me?” lol. He ended up saying he was just being dramatic and I said I was learning new things about him. I asked if he just couldn’t handle me giving him a hard time and he said, “Nope, I need you to be sensitive to me.” ha. I said that that would be tough because I’m not sure I know how but I’d try just for him. Then yesterday he replied “thank you” and I said that next time I was calling him out on his bs he could just remind me to stop. He didn’t reply to that. haha!


Anyway, yeah that all happened and then he randomly showed up today.
I stood up from my chair and started rambling about who knows what. Asking about how work on the weekend was. Apparently he’d taken hunters out on Sunday, not worked his actual job. I teased him about making it seem like he was so super busy and he was just running around hunting.

At some point as I was rambling he reached out his hand and laid it on the desk in front of me. I reached over to shake his hand and he grabbed on to mine and did not let go when I tried pulling away. Like he was just standing there holding my hand. I tried pulling away a couple times and then finally said that I was going to need that back and he let go. I totally noticed as I stood up that he looked down at my waist too. All checking me out. haha.

We had a client sitting at the desk across from us though. And obviously my mom was here too! So it was slightly awkward. Mostly because they were done doing their thing and therefore not really talking anymore. People love to listen to everything you say so I couldn’t like straight up flirt with him. I’d contemplated ways I could possibly walk around the desk to give him a hug but it would have been too obvious. Had the client not been here I definitely would have messed around with him a little more. It doesn’t really bother me if mom hears because she pretty much knows everything anyway. hah. Having a stranger around makes me all shy though.

I’d asked him about some paperwork but he didn’t know what I was talking about so I went to look for his file in the back. I heard Mom say that she’d be with him in a bit but he said he was just dropping stuff off. I thought I heard him say he was in a hurry so I grabbed everything and walked back up front. Turns out he probably didn’t need the paper I was talking about, but I couldn’t even form coherent sentences apparently so he was all confused. Ok. Nevermind. I asked if he just wanted to leave everything and we’d call when it was ready and he said that was fine. We talked about him being on his lunch break, or whatever, but he didn’t act like he was in a hurry while he stood up front with me.

He made some comment about our candy dish, but I didn’t hear so I leaned closer and I still couldn’t hear. Who knows what kind of joke he made that I missed! He kept walking away from the desk and staring out the door though. Not sure why? Like he didn’t know what to say or do either.

I gave him a hard time about all his paperwork and asked if he’d heard anything back yet. When he said no I made a joke about not being able to go to Spain yet and how much I was looking forward to it. I hate trying to have a conversation with someone up front when other people are talking though. And I think the printer was running. I can’t hear anything! Because he said something about how he was bummed out, or I don’t know. I missed that too! Damnit.

Mom ended up saying something to him about working and he said yeah and she goes, “Oh I thought you had a date or something!” He goes, “No. There’s only one girl I want to be dating right now.” Or something like that. I don’t know what I was doing at the time but I wasn’t paying attention until I heard him respond and I glanced up as he turned around to make eye contact. He had one of those wicked smiles on his face. The ones that make me smile. =] And I laughed and I saw that he was starting to turn a little red. Which is kinda endearing! That boy can dish it out but he sure can’t take it! He left right after that. I thought he was going to stick around a little since the client was almost done, but nope. It worked out ok too because she had to stick around a bit and the next client walked in before she even left. We wouldn’t have had time to even talk.

The second he walked out the door the client turns to me and goes, “Hey Rose, was that comment thrown at you!?!” haha. I laughed and said I didn’t know but it sure sounded like it was. Everyone had a good ol’ laugh about it.

I sent him an e-mail about half an hour later saying, “damn dude! Calling me out at work like that! The rumors are gonna be flying now! ;)” He laughed and said he was sorry and asked if mom was making fun of me now. I said “duh” and the client was too. That I’d never live it down and just wait until she starts telling everybody what happened and he was going to owe me. Then he sent a bunch of messages but it came out weird. I don’t know what he does when he replies that some come out blank unless I click through. So I saw a bunch of messages but it came up that he was saying “ok ok ok. I’m sorry!!!!” and then another about how it turns out that that client’s kid is in the same class as his son. He saw her at the school after he left here! Crazy tiny town coincidences!

I made a joke about how that was great because that was just what I needed! For her to recognize him on the street and tell all the other moms and dads. I told him he better start thinking of ways to make this up to me. haha. And he just did his whole “ok ok ok” thing. I told him that I thought we were over that now and he said ok again. Just once that time. ha. We’re still talking now, but just about how he was actually in a hurry and didn’t tell me. And about seeing the client at his son’s school.

Things are still good between us now. It hasn’t really been weird or awkward. We’re checking in with each other. I like that! Maybe it has some thing to do with the fact that we’re both busy working right now. There’s only so much contact we can have because neither of us has free time. Like I’d made a joke about how he was going to need the bottle of wine they brought us more than I did. Since he was getting out around the same time as me but he goes in way earlier. After he agreed I took it back saying that it was really good so maybe it’s better if we share. ha. He said ok but that he didn’t know when he’d have free time and I said that was fine because I didn’t either. It’s all working out ok right now.
knock on wood


Man I am tired today. I thought things were going to slow down a bit but I guess not. That’s ok though. We need the work. Days are going by pretty quickly too. I’m definitely taking a lot more walk-ins than I have in previous years. That part’s a little exhausting.

Dang! I just realized I forgot to tell the client this morning that he didn’t bring us any muffins this year! Mom usually takes care of his stuff but she was behind because we’d taken walk-ins and she had a business to deal with. We asked if it was ok for me to take over and he said he didn’t care. I totally forgot to bring it up though! Missed my chance at free food! [Our friends just dropped off dinner though! Yay! We missed lunch today. They’d called a while ago but I didn’t have time to talk to mom about it before calling back and I guess they stopped by when I went into the bathroom. hah. Awesome!]

I find it hard to believe that it is only 7 o’clock though. It feels more like midnight. [Is that a line from a song? lol] I better start shutting down so we can get out of here as soon as this client leaves.

rose.
7:09pm


Last updated February 07, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.