New Friendship Level...I guess in meh...

  • Feb. 4, 2017, 2:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve talked about karaoke buddy turned friend before. The socially awkward geek that is a pretty okay person if he would just calm down. The one I was upset that it seemed as if RJ deals with him from her ego. He is so WAY over her it’s funny.

Well he asked me if I was busy yesterday evening and I said no. He wanted to get together and have a talk. I thought he was in need of a feelings share or something. Like maybe he couldn’t talk to his woman or they were having problems. So he came and picked me up. We went to one spot that was overly crowded and small and so we left. He finally got me to the one spot for karaoke and there was like no one there.

So he says that he considers me a friend and not just a “karaoke friend”. We’ve done lunch, he’s picked me up to do karaoke, we talk on messenger all time. Cool. So he figures that he ought to come clean about some stuff. He tells me that the lady in his life is not his girlfriend, but his wife of 26 years and the mother of his children. He asked if I could guess his age. I said he would be 50 something. After he was done with all of his confessions, I told him, these were things he could have disclosed early on if he wanted to because I didn’t really care about any of it. I have many friends who are older than me. My oldest, really close, really good friend is Betty who is like 75+. I love her. As far as him being married, I never wanted to get with him. If anything, I would prefer to know about your marital status so that I may keep you in your place. So he made all these revelations and I’m like, “okaaaay…?” I have come a long way in trying not to make judgments of people and being mean spirited in general. Mean spirited me would have said, “I don’t care that you’re married. I don’t want you no way.” LOL He also doesn’t live as close to me as he said he did. I thought he lived close to where I worked, but he lives in the county/suburbs kind of far out. I know now not to take him up on any offers to take me to the store down the street. I haven’t, but he seems to make himself available if needed. That’s too far out.

So with that, we had the entire bar to ourselves for songs and the bartender was very sweet for letting us do it. The microphones were awesome. I just felt weird belting out songs with no one to sing over so they can hear me. I’ve got to work on my falsetto though. It’s great when I’m singing to myself, but in a crowded room it’s almost inaudible. I managed to squeak out Tear Drops On My Guitar. It wasn’t bad actually. That’s one I need to work on and I can see that being in the rotation. I probably shouldn’t sing it because the dude she’s singing about is also the dude that got married on me so…LOL But trust, I’m not crying on a guitar about his tail. AT ALL…lol

In other unrelated news, today my sister would have been 51. I’m sure my family is going to go to the cemetery. My sister, my grandmother and my grandmother’s sister are all buried together. My niece actually asked me if I wanted to go, but they will most likely go during the day and, I’m here. My Facebook post shouting happy birthday to her last year was awesome and so I reposted it. Tearing up a little, but trying to remember all the times. Scott said perhaps I needed to get out tonight and have some company. If it were a replay of last Friday that would be awesome. Although I want to go to The Beale and see KT’s new band. I guess I can see them later this month.

So now, I’m going to eat carrots and find a movie to watch. I didn’t miss any shows that I’m aware of and I’m all caught up so okay.

Take care of each other…

Kindest regards,
Sister


Deleted user February 04, 2017

Gilraent February 08, 2017

My parents birthdays still bother me a little bit even though they've been gone so long.
Glad you got out with a friend :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.