No requirement in 2017

  • Feb. 2, 2017, 12:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

5:31pm

I’m tired. I’d like to go home and sleep for like the next week, but I guess that’s not really possible. Actually I don’t think I need to sleep, I just want to lie in bed and zone out listening to music. That would be a lot more restful than actual sleep right now.

I just finished booking our last open spot for Saturday. We currently have appointments scheduled every hour between 9am and 5pm [including some that are double booked because they’re coming together.] I’m guessing we’ll be staying late that day instead of getting out at five. Gotta get it done while we can, I guess.

The days are going by so fast, even when it’s not terribly busy! I can’t believe it’s the end of the week already. Or almost. Wait…today’s Wednesday huh? That’s only the middle of the week. geez. My brain is not functioning anymore. All the days blur together and since we’re opening on Sundays there isn’t a real start or end to the week.

Speaking of work, well sorta, I have an update to the TF thing [I’m gonna be able to write a whole book after all these updates. hah]. I did end up sending him a text that night after I got home. It said, “So, quick question: if I change my mind and marry you do I still have to work? Because I’m on the verge of quitting my job and I’d like to know my options.”

And of course he didn’t respond. It was almost 9pm by the time I’d gotten home and sent the message. I try not to put too much pressure on the situation anymore. But you know I can’t help having hurt feelings when he doesn’t respond right away like he used to. That’s his fault for getting me used to that kind of instant response. Now I have to pay for his terrible habits, but whatever.

I’m sure I huffed and puffed about it all day. Every time I happened to glance at my phone and there was nothing there. At lunch some time before 2pm we were talking about something or other, I don’t remember now, I just know that there have been a lot of jokes around here about the ‘proposal’ and my future marriage. So I’d said something about how I’d asked him about having to work but he’d never responded and I think I called him a few choice words.

Then I walked back up front a few minutes later and grabbed my water from my bag, looked at my phone, and there was a text. I hoped it would be from him but I hate getting my hopes up too high these days. Especially in regards to this particular situation.
It did turn out to be him [I had to take back those choice words] and his response was, “You will not be required to work.” Uh…dream come true? lol. Actually, in reality, I’m not sure I could be a stay at home kinda person. I love the idea of it, but it’s really only good in theory. I’m terrible at cooking. The idea of having to come up with a meal for every day of the week is a little terrifying. Everything else I could probably manage. And honestly it might be ok if I kept my current job where I’m only working a few months a year, but I’d basically disappear during that time and that seems like a tough routine to get used to.

Anyway, we got out of work around 7:30pm and we stopped at a friend’s house because they’d made us dinner to pick up. [Yay, awesome people!] I was sitting in the car and I checked my phone to find another text: “Ok, now you have to work!” He’d sent it a little after 6. I’m guessing because I didn’t respond to the first message. [See how he has such little patience while waiting for my responses despite knowing I’m busy at work… Imagine what I feel like dude!] I asked “Why?!? Your proposal was starting to sound so great I was going to remind you to bring the ring in when you come by!”

Of course because he’s the same guy he’s been this entire time, he then brought up the fact that I haven’t kissed him and therefore should not expect a big ring. HA. I kinda took that as a win. I mean, he didn’t say not to expect a ring at all. lol. ;) I responded that he never even asked me on a second date so yeah, we should both keep our expectations low. He laughed and said that he’d asked but I never had time for him. Bullsh*t! And I told him as much. In nicer words. I said that he had quite the imagination. That he definitely did not ask and I had all the time in the world.

I didn’t hear anything back after that. Not that I’m surprised. I’ve grown used to his lack of response to anything even remotely “serious”. I wasn’t really trying to get serious with that comment, but it was true. He definitely did not ask. I know that for a fact!

This evening though I got another text. He asked me how work was going today. I was surprised to hear from him. I’d actually been in the middle of this entry, but I’d stopped to help wrap up the last client. I thought I’d heard my phone buzz but didn’t check until after they left. We had to run errands after so on the drive out I told him that I was just getting out of work and I still wanted to quit. He said, “poor baby” and I said, “I know! It’s a sad life I lead. I’m gonna need a lot of tequila at the end of this week.” He said, “I bet” and that’s where we end for the day. Unless there’s another text on my phone in the room. hah. [I’ve been working on this entry a while. I checked - 3 new texts. Whoa! But two were from Tony and one from JR, so yeah, that’s where we end.]

I’m still waiting to see when he’s going to come in. He has to come in pretty soon unless he’s going to do some major procrastinating. I’d like to see him in person just to know what it’s going to be like. We haven’t seen each other in two months and even that was just the quick moment in the office when we didn’t even have time to joke around.

I can’t let go of this. Clearly! But so much of it is still up in the air. I like where we are right now. I mean, I’m not sure why we’re joking about marriage, but I guess that’s just our weird communication style. I haven’t had very much control over any of this, so I guess I can’t really expect to be able to predict where it’ll go next.

We’ll see.

rose.
10:07pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.